ATM in Abilene, TX

ATM in Abilene, TX: 34 branch locations on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 8.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Abilene, TX

Branches on file
34
Institutions present
15
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
8.9 mi apart

Abilene has 34 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and First Financial Bank accounts for 12 of them (35% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 11 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 34 street addresses and 34 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.3 miles from the centre point of all Abilene branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 79601, 79602, 79603, 79605, 79606.

First Financial Bank, Avana Bank are headquartered in Abilene itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in AbileneOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
First Financial Bank1283Abilene, TXNot reported
Prosperity Bank6400El Campo, TXNot reported
First National Bank and Trust Company of Weatherford315Weatherford, TXNot reported
Coleman County State Bank25Coleman, TXNot reported
Avana Bank13Abilene, TXNot reported
Bank of America, National Association13,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Centennial Bank1236Conway, ARNot reported
City Bank134Lubbock, TXNot reported
Clear Fork Bank, National Association16Albany, TXNot reported
Haskell National Bank12Haskell, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association15,116Columbus, OHNot reported
The City National Bank of Colorado City14Colorado City, TXNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association1199Kansas City, MONot reported
Victory Bank14Lubbock, TXNot reported
Western Bank110Lubbock, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

Reading the atm in Abilene data on this page

Every figure on this page for Abilene, TX is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 34 and institutions represented of 15.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Abilene, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

How Abilene, TX compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Abilene, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about Abilene, TX

How current is the atm in Abilene data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Abilene, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 34.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 34 branch locations listed for Abilene come from the federal branch files, filtered to Abilene, TX and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.

34 of the 34 Abilene records carry a street address and 34 carry coordinates, which is how the 8.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

First Financial Bank is the largest presence in Abilene with 12 of the 34 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.