ATM in San Antonio, TX

ATM in San Antonio, TX: 263 branch locations on record from 49 federally insured institutions, spread over 44 ZIP codes and 28.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in San Antonio, TX

Branches on file
263
Institutions present
49
ZIP codes covered
44
Furthest two branches
28.1 mi apart

San Antonio has 263 bank branches on file across 49 institutions, and Frost Bank accounts for 25 of them (10% of the city’s total). 26 of those institutions keep a single office here. 31 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 263 street addresses and 263 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 6.7 miles from the centre point of all San Antonio branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 78201, 78202, 78205, 78207, 78209, 78210, 78211, 78212, 78213, 78214, 78215, 78216 and 32 more.

Frost Bank, Broadway National Bank, Jefferson Bank, Vantage Bank Texas are headquartered in San Antonio itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in San AntonioOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Frost Bank25217San Antonio, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association245,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association234,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association223,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
International Bank of Commerce1879Laredo, TXNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association182,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Broadway National Bank1532San Antonio, TXNot reported
Woodforest National Bank15741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
First National Bank Texas12366Killeen, TXNot reported
Prosperity Bank11400El Campo, TXNot reported
Jefferson Bank1013San Antonio, TXNot reported
Truist Bank81,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.6412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association51,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Lone Star National Bank538Pharr, TXNot reported
PlainsCapital Bank457University Park, TXNot reported
Rio Bank424Mcallen, TXNot reported
Bank OZK2272Little Rock, ARNot reported
First Commercial Bank, National Association27Seguin, TXNot reported
First United Bank and Trust Company285Durant, OKNot reported
Texas Community Bank211Laredo, TXNot reported
Vantage Bank Texas223San Antonio, TXNot reported
Wallis Bank216Wallis, TXNot reported
Amarillo National Bank133Amarillo, TXNot reported
American Momentum Bank130College Station, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in San Antonio figures actually show

Every figure on this page for San Antonio, TX is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 263 and institutions represented of 49.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around San Antonio, TX matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish San Antonio, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How San Antonio, TX compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark San Antonio, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about San Antonio, TX

How current is the atm in San Antonio data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for San Antonio, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 263.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 263 branch locations listed for San Antonio come from the federal branch files, filtered to San Antonio, TX and matched to the 49 institutions we hold profiles for.

263 of the 263 San Antonio records carry a street address and 263 carry coordinates, which is how the 28.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Frost Bank is the largest presence in San Antonio with 25 of the 263 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.