ATM in El Paso, TX

ATM in El Paso, TX: 82 branch locations on record from 17 federally insured institutions, spread over 16 ZIP codes and 22.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in El Paso, TX

Branches on file
82
Institutions present
17
ZIP codes covered
16
Furthest two branches
22.9 mi apart

El Paso has 82 bank branches on file across 17 institutions, and First National Bank Texas accounts for 17 of them (21% of the city’s total). 5 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 82 street addresses and 82 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 6.4 miles from the centre point of all El Paso branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 79901, 79902, 79903, 79904, 79905, 79906, 79907, 79912, 79915, 79924, 79925, 79928 and 4 more.

WestStar Bank is headquartered in El Paso itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in El PasoOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
First National Bank Texas17366Killeen, TXNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association104,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
WestStar Bank1014El Paso, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association95,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association73,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association62,404Wilmington, DENot reported
First American Bank421Artesia, NMNot reported
City Bank334Lubbock, TXNot reported
First Savings Bank324Beresford, SDNot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association3101Dallas, TXNot reported
Vantage Bank Texas323San Antonio, TXNot reported
TexasBank220Fort Worth, TXNot reported
Armed Forces Bank, National Association115Fort Leavenworth, KSNot reported
Bank of Texas13Midland, TXNot reported
Citizens Bank of Las Cruces19Las Cruces, NMNot reported
Members Trust Company14Tampa, FLNot reported
Southwest Heritage Bank19Scottsdale, AZNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in El Paso numbers

The numbers published here for El Paso, TX are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 82 and institutions represented of 17.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish El Paso, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How El Paso, TX compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark El Paso, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Frequently asked questions about El Paso, TX

How current is the atm in El Paso data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for El Paso, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 82.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 82 branch locations listed for El Paso come from the federal branch files, filtered to El Paso, TX and matched to the 17 institutions we hold profiles for.

82 of the 82 El Paso records carry a street address and 82 carry coordinates, which is how the 22.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

First National Bank Texas is the largest presence in El Paso with 17 of the 82 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.