ATM in Houston, TX
ATM in Houston, TX: 608 branch locations on record from 81 federally insured institutions, spread over 85 ZIP codes and 43.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Houston, TX
Houston has 500 bank branches on file across 37 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 80 of them (16% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 14 are headquartered inside Texas.
The records carry 500 street addresses and 500 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 8.4 miles from the centre point of all Houston branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 77002, 77003, 77004, 77005, 77006, 77007, 77008, 77009, 77011, 77012, 77014, 77015 and 73 more.
Central Bank, Texas Gulf Bank, National Association, Cornerstone Capital Bank, SSB, Global One Bank, Wells Fargo Bank South Central, National Association are headquartered in Houston itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Houston | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 80 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 62 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 48 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Prosperity Bank | 43 | 400 | El Campo, TX | Not reported |
| Frost Bank | 33 | 217 | San Antonio, TX | Not reported |
| First National Bank Texas | 32 | 366 | Killeen, TX | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 32 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 29 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 21 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Zions Bancorporation, N.A. | 17 | 412 | Salt Lake City, UT | Not reported |
| Regions Bank | 15 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 12 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Origin Bank | 9 | 57 | Choudrant, LA | Not reported |
| Bank OZK | 7 | 272 | Little Rock, AR | Not reported |
| BOKF, National Association | 7 | 115 | Tulsa, OK | Not reported |
| Trustmark Bank | 7 | 176 | Jackson, MS | Not reported |
| MidFirst Bank | 5 | 94 | Oklahoma City, OK | Not reported |
| PlainsCapital Bank | 5 | 57 | University Park, TX | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 4 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| Central Bank | 4 | 4 | Houston, TX | Not reported |
| Hancock Whitney Bank | 4 | 193 | Gulfport, MS | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 3 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| Texas Gulf Bank, National Association | 3 | 9 | Houston, TX | Not reported |
| The Northern Trust Company | 3 | 60 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Plains State Bank | 2 | 8 | Humble, TX | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
How to read the atm in Houston numbers
The numbers published here for Houston, TX are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 608 and institutions represented of 81.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Turning the Houston, TX data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Houston, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
Where Houston, TX sits against the wider market
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Houston, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Common questions
How current is the atm in Houston data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Houston, TX?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 608.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Texas
Methodology
The 608 branch locations listed for Houston come from the federal branch files, filtered to Houston, TX and matched to the 81 institutions we hold profiles for.
500 of the 500 Houston records carry a street address and 500 carry coordinates, which is how the 43.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Houston with 80 of the 500 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.