ATM in Winston Salem, NC

ATM in Winston Salem, NC: 56 branch locations on record from 22 federally insured institutions, spread over 7 ZIP codes and 13.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Winston Salem, NC

Branches on file
56
Institutions present
22
ZIP codes covered
7
Furthest two branches
13.6 mi apart

Winston Salem has 56 bank branches on file across 22 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 8 of them (14% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside North Carolina.

The records carry 56 street addresses and 56 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3 miles from the centre point of all Winston Salem branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 27101, 27103, 27104, 27105, 27106, 27107, 27127.

Piedmont Federal Savings Bank is headquartered in Winston Salem itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Winston SalemOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Truist Bank81,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
First Horizon Bank7414Memphis, TNNot reported
Bank of America, National Association43,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Piedmont Federal Savings Bank410Winston Salem, NCNot reported
First Bank3114Southern Pines, NCNot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania3363Greenville, PANot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company3517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Pinnacle Bank3421Nashville, TNNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association34,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Woodforest National Bank3741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Carter Bank & Trust266Martinsville, VANot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
The Huntington National Bank21,505Columbus, OHNot reported
American Pride Bank18Macon, GANot reported
Atlantic Union Bank1182Richmond City, VANot reported
Bank OZK1272Little Rock, ARNot reported
Mechanics & Farmers Bank18Durham, NCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
The Fidelity Bank159Fuquay Varina, NCNot reported
TowneBank181Portsmouth, VANot reported
Triad Business Bank13Greensboro, NCNot reported
United Community Bank1192Greenville, SCNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Winston Salem numbers

Every figure on this page for Winston Salem, NC is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 56 and institutions represented of 22.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Winston Salem, NC matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Winston Salem, NC and how it sits inside North Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Carolina.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How Winston Salem, NC compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Winston Salem, NC against North Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Frequently asked questions about Winston Salem, NC

How current is the atm in Winston Salem data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Winston Salem, NC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 56.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in North Carolina

Methodology

The 56 branch locations listed for Winston Salem come from the federal branch files, filtered to Winston Salem, NC and matched to the 22 institutions we hold profiles for.

56 of the 56 Winston Salem records carry a street address and 56 carry coordinates, which is how the 13.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Truist Bank is the largest presence in Winston Salem with 8 of the 56 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.