ATM in Raleigh, NC

ATM in Raleigh, NC: 129 branch locations on record from 34 federally insured institutions, spread over 15 ZIP codes and 24.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Raleigh, NC

Branches on file
129
Institutions present
34
ZIP codes covered
15
Furthest two branches
24.6 mi apart

Raleigh has 129 bank branches on file across 34 institutions, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association accounts for 17 of them (13% of the city’s total). 17 of those institutions keep a single office here. 12 are headquartered inside North Carolina.

The records carry 129 street addresses and 129 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.1 miles from the centre point of all Raleigh branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 27601, 27603, 27604, 27605, 27606, 27607, 27608, 27609, 27610, 27612, 27613, 27614 and 3 more.

First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company, North State Bank are headquartered in Raleigh itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in RaleighOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association174,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Truist Bank121,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association111,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company10517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Bank of America, National Association93,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association92,404Wilmington, DENot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association75,116Columbus, OHNot reported
First Horizon Bank6414Memphis, TNNot reported
Pinnacle Bank6421Nashville, TNNot reported
North State Bank57Raleigh, NCNot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania4363Greenville, PANot reported
The Fidelity Bank459Fuquay Varina, NCNot reported
TowneBank381Portsmouth, VANot reported
Woodforest National Bank3741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
FSNB, National Association266Lawton, OKNot reported
Mechanics & Farmers Bank28Durham, NCNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association2363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
Atlantic Union Bank1182Richmond City, VANot reported
Bank of England1145England, ARNot reported
Bank OZK1272Little Rock, ARNot reported
Capital Bank, National Association18Rockville, MDNot reported
Carter Bank & Trust166Martinsville, VANot reported
Farmers & Merchants Bank112Granite Quarry, NCNot reported
First Bank1114Southern Pines, NCNot reported
First Carolina Bank19Rocky Mount, NCNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

Reading the atm in Raleigh data on this page

Every figure on this page for Raleigh, NC is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 129 and institutions represented of 34.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Raleigh, NC data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Raleigh, NC and how it sits inside North Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Carolina.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Putting Raleigh, NC next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Raleigh, NC against North Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Raleigh data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Raleigh, NC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 129.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in North Carolina

Methodology

The 129 branch locations listed for Raleigh come from the federal branch files, filtered to Raleigh, NC and matched to the 34 institutions we hold profiles for.

129 of the 129 Raleigh records carry a street address and 129 carry coordinates, which is how the 24.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Raleigh with 17 of the 129 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.