ATM in Greensboro, NC
ATM in Greensboro, NC: 73 branch locations on record from 21 federally insured institutions, spread over 11 ZIP codes and 14 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Greensboro, NC
Greensboro has 73 bank branches on file across 21 institutions, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association accounts for 13 of them (18% of the city’s total). 6 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside North Carolina.
The records carry 73 street addresses and 73 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3 miles from the centre point of all Greensboro branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 27401, 27403, 27405, 27406, 27407, 27408, 27409, 27410, 27411, 27412, 27455.
Triad Business Bank is headquartered in Greensboro itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Greensboro | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 13 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 11 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 7 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 6 | 517 | Raleigh, NC | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Pennsylvania | 5 | 363 | Greenville, PA | Not reported |
| Carter Bank & Trust | 3 | 66 | Martinsville, VA | Not reported |
| First Bank | 3 | 114 | Southern Pines, NC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 3 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Pinnacle Bank | 3 | 421 | Nashville, TN | Not reported |
| Woodforest National Bank | 3 | 741 | The Woodlands, TX | Not reported |
| Atlantic Union Bank | 2 | 182 | Richmond City, VA | Not reported |
| Bank of Oak Ridge | 2 | 5 | Oak Ridge, NC | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 2 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 2 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| The Fidelity Bank | 2 | 59 | Fuquay Varina, NC | Not reported |
| Blue Ridge Bank, National Association | 1 | 27 | Martinsville, VA | Not reported |
| Mechanics & Farmers Bank | 1 | 8 | Durham, NC | Not reported |
| Southern First Bank | 1 | 12 | Greenville, SC | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 1 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| TowneBank | 1 | 81 | Portsmouth, VA | Not reported |
| Triad Business Bank | 1 | 3 | Greensboro, NC | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
What the atm in Greensboro figures actually show
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Greensboro, NC are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 73 and institutions represented of 21.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
Turning the Greensboro, NC data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Greensboro, NC and how it sits inside North Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Carolina.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
How Greensboro, NC compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Greensboro, NC against North Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Frequently asked questions about Greensboro, NC
How current is the atm in Greensboro data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Greensboro, NC?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 73.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in North Carolina
Methodology
The 73 branch locations listed for Greensboro come from the federal branch files, filtered to Greensboro, NC and matched to the 21 institutions we hold profiles for.
73 of the 73 Greensboro records carry a street address and 73 carry coordinates, which is how the 14-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Greensboro with 13 of the 73 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.