ATM in Charlotte, NC
ATM in Charlotte, NC: 214 branch locations on record from 40 federally insured institutions, spread over 29 ZIP codes and 23.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Charlotte, NC
Charlotte has 214 bank branches on file across 40 institutions, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association accounts for 31 of them (14% of the city’s total). 19 of those institutions keep a single office here. 10 are headquartered inside North Carolina.
The records carry 214 street addresses and 214 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 5.4 miles from the centre point of all Charlotte branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 28105, 28202, 28203, 28204, 28205, 28206, 28207, 28208, 28209, 28210, 28211, 28212 and 17 more.
Truist Bank, Bank of America, National Association, Cedar Hill National Bank are headquartered in Charlotte itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Charlotte | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 31 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 25 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 24 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 22 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 17 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 15 | 517 | Raleigh, NC | Not reported |
| Pinnacle Bank | 7 | 421 | Nashville, TN | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 7 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Pennsylvania | 6 | 363 | Greenville, PA | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 6 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 5 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Woodforest National Bank | 5 | 741 | The Woodlands, TX | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 4 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| SouthState Bank, National Association | 4 | 363 | Winter Haven, FL | Not reported |
| TowneBank | 4 | 81 | Portsmouth, VA | Not reported |
| Regions Bank | 3 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| Bank OZK | 2 | 272 | Little Rock, AR | Not reported |
| First Bank | 2 | 114 | Southern Pines, NC | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 2 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| The Park National Bank | 2 | 112 | Newark, OH | Not reported |
| United Community Bank | 2 | 192 | Greenville, SC | Not reported |
| American Pride Bank | 1 | 8 | Macon, GA | Not reported |
| Ameris Bank | 1 | 169 | Atlanta, GA | Not reported |
| Bank of England | 1 | 145 | England, AR | Not reported |
| Byline Bank | 1 | 55 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
How to read the atm in Charlotte numbers
The numbers published here for Charlotte, NC are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 214 and institutions represented of 40.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
Why the spread around Charlotte, NC matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Charlotte, NC and how it sits inside North Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of North Carolina.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
Putting Charlotte, NC next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Charlotte, NC against North Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Questions people ask about Charlotte, NC
How current is the atm in Charlotte data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Charlotte, NC?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 214.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in North Carolina
Methodology
The 214 branch locations listed for Charlotte come from the federal branch files, filtered to Charlotte, NC and matched to the 40 institutions we hold profiles for.
214 of the 214 Charlotte records carry a street address and 214 carry coordinates, which is how the 23.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Charlotte with 31 of the 214 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.