ATM in Mcallen, TX

ATM in Mcallen, TX: 60 branch locations on record from 19 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 6.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Mcallen, TX

Branches on file
60
Institutions present
19
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
6.5 mi apart

Mcallen has 60 bank branches on file across 19 institutions, and International Bank of Commerce accounts for 11 of them (18% of the city’s total). 6 of those institutions keep a single office here. 15 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 60 street addresses and 60 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2 miles from the centre point of all Mcallen branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 78501, 78502, 78503, 78504.

Rio Bank, Texas National Bank, Bank of South Texas, Greater State Bank are headquartered in Mcallen itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in McallenOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
International Bank of Commerce1141Brownsville, TXNot reported
Lone Star National Bank1038Pharr, TXNot reported
Vantage Bank Texas523San Antonio, TXNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association42,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Rio Bank424Mcallen, TXNot reported
Frost Bank3217San Antonio, TXNot reported
Texas Regional Bank337Harlingen, TXNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Falcon International Bank219Laredo, TXNot reported
PlainsCapital Bank257University Park, TXNot reported
Texas National Bank214Mcallen, TXNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of South Texas18Mcallen, TXNot reported
First Community Bank19San Benito, TXNot reported
Freedom Bank16Alamo, TXNot reported
Greater State Bank16Mcallen, TXNot reported
International Bank of Commerce179Laredo, TXNot reported
Texas Community Bank111Laredo, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Mcallen numbers

Every figure on this page for Mcallen, TX is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 60 and institutions represented of 19.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Mcallen, TX matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Mcallen, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Where Mcallen, TX sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Mcallen, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Mcallen, TX

How current is the atm in Mcallen data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Mcallen, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 60.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 60 branch locations listed for Mcallen come from the federal branch files, filtered to Mcallen, TX and matched to the 19 institutions we hold profiles for.

60 of the 60 Mcallen records carry a street address and 60 carry coordinates, which is how the 6.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

International Bank of Commerce is the largest presence in Mcallen with 11 of the 60 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.