ATM in Topeka, KS

ATM in Topeka, KS: 49 branch locations on record from 16 federally insured institutions, spread over 13 ZIP codes and 9.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Topeka, KS

Branches on file
49
Institutions present
16
ZIP codes covered
13
Furthest two branches
9.6 mi apart

Topeka has 49 bank branches on file across 16 institutions, and Capitol Federal Savings Bank accounts for 10 of them (20% of the city’s total). 7 of those institutions keep a single office here. 14 are headquartered inside Kansas.

The records carry 49 street addresses and 49 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.9 miles from the centre point of all Topeka branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 66603, 66604, 66605, 66606, 66607, 66608, 66610, 66611, 66612, 66614, 66615, 66616 and 1 more.

Capitol Federal Savings Bank, CoreFirst Bank & Trust, Kaw Valley Bank, Heritage Bank, Silver Lake Bank, Community Bank are headquartered in Topeka itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, U.S. Bank National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 7.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in TopekaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Capitol Federal Savings Bank1046Topeka, KSNot reported
CoreFirst Bank & Trust912Topeka, KSNot reported
Kaw Valley Bank77Topeka, KSNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association41,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Heritage Bank33Topeka, KSNot reported
Silver Lake Bank36Topeka, KSNot reported
Central National Bank233Junction City, KSNot reported
Equity Bank284Andover, KSNot reported
The Bennington State Bank215Salina, KSNot reported
Community Bank11Topeka, KSNot reported
Community National Bank16Seneca, KSNot reported
Intrust Bank, National Association140Wichita, KSNot reported
Landmark National Bank128Manhattan, KSNot reported
The Denison State Bank15Holton, KSNot reported
The Lyndon State Bank13Lyndon, KSNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association1199Kansas City, MONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Topeka numbers

Every figure on this page for Topeka, KS is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 49 and institutions represented of 16.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Topeka, KS and how it sits inside Kansas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kansas.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

How Topeka, KS compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Topeka, KS against Kansas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Topeka, KS

How current is the atm in Topeka data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Topeka, KS?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 49.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Kansas

Methodology

The 49 branch locations listed for Topeka come from the federal branch files, filtered to Topeka, KS and matched to the 16 institutions we hold profiles for.

49 of the 49 Topeka records carry a street address and 49 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Capitol Federal Savings Bank is the largest presence in Topeka with 10 of the 49 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.