ATM in Lawrence, KS

ATM in Lawrence, KS: 38 branch locations on record from 19 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 4.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Lawrence, KS

Branches on file
38
Institutions present
19
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
4.2 mi apart

Lawrence has 38 bank branches on file across 19 institutions, and The Central Trust Bank accounts for 6 of them (16% of the city’s total). 8 of those institutions keep a single office here. 10 are headquartered inside Kansas.

The records carry 38 street addresses and 38 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.6 miles from the centre point of all Lawrence branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 66044, 66045, 66046, 66047, 66049.

Great American Bank is headquartered in Lawrence itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in LawrenceOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
The Central Trust Bank6166Jefferson City, MONot reported
Central National Bank433Junction City, KSNot reported
Capitol Federal Savings Bank346Topeka, KSNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Commerce Bank2153Kansas City, MONot reported
First State Bank and Trust27Tonganoxie, KSNot reported
Great American Bank25Lawrence, KSNot reported
Intrust Bank, National Association240Wichita, KSNot reported
Landmark National Bank228Manhattan, KSNot reported
RCB Bank262Claremore, OKNot reported
Emprise Bank131Wichita, KSNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association15,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Mid-America Bank17Baldwin City, KSNot reported
NBH Bank195Greenwood Village, CONot reported
Silver Lake Bank16Topeka, KSNot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association1101Dallas, TXNot reported
TriCentury Bank13De Soto, KSNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association1199Kansas City, MONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in Lawrence figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Lawrence, KS are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 38 and institutions represented of 19.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Lawrence, KS data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Lawrence, KS and how it sits inside Kansas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kansas.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How Lawrence, KS compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Lawrence, KS against Kansas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Lawrence data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Lawrence, KS?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 38.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Kansas

Methodology

The 38 branch locations listed for Lawrence come from the federal branch files, filtered to Lawrence, KS and matched to the 19 institutions we hold profiles for.

38 of the 38 Lawrence records carry a street address and 38 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

The Central Trust Bank is the largest presence in Lawrence with 6 of the 38 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.