ATM in Salina, KS

ATM in Salina, KS: 21 branch locations on record from 11 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 4.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Salina, KS

Branches on file
21
Institutions present
11
ZIP codes covered
1
Furthest two branches
4.2 mi apart

Salina has 21 bank branches on file across 11 institutions, and Sunflower Bank, National Association accounts for 5 of them (24% of the city’s total). 5 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Kansas.

The records carry 21 street addresses and 21 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.3 miles from the centre point of all Salina branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 67401.

First Bank Kansas, The Bennington State Bank are headquartered in Salina itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in SalinaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Sunflower Bank, National Association5101Dallas, TXNot reported
First Bank Kansas38Salina, KSNot reported
Central National Bank233Junction City, KSNot reported
Equity Bank284Andover, KSNot reported
The Bank of Tescott26Tescott, KSNot reported
The Bennington State Bank215Salina, KSNot reported
Bank of the Plains18Plains, KSNot reported
Capitol Federal Savings Bank146Topeka, KSNot reported
Exchange Bank18Kearney, NENot reported
The Solomon State Bank13Solomon, KSNot reported
UMB Bank, National Association1199Kansas City, MONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in Salina figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Salina, KS is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 21 and institutions represented of 11.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Turning the Salina, KS data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Salina, KS and how it sits inside Kansas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kansas.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Putting Salina, KS next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Salina, KS against Kansas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Salina, KS

How current is the atm in Salina data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Salina, KS?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 21.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Kansas

Methodology

The 21 branch locations listed for Salina come from the federal branch files, filtered to Salina, KS and matched to the 11 institutions we hold profiles for.

21 of the 21 Salina records carry a street address and 21 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Sunflower Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Salina with 5 of the 21 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.