ATM in Kansas City, KS

ATM in Kansas City, KS: 32 branch locations on record from 17 federally insured institutions, spread over 8 ZIP codes and 13.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Kansas City, KS

Branches on file
32
Institutions present
17
ZIP codes covered
8
Furthest two branches
13.4 mi apart

Kansas City has 32 bank branches on file across 17 institutions, and Security Bank of Kansas City accounts for 8 of them (25% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 5 are headquartered inside Kansas.

The records carry 32 street addresses and 32 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4 miles from the centre point of all Kansas City branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 66101, 66102, 66103, 66104, 66105, 66106, 66109, 66112.

Security Bank of Kansas City, Argentine Federal Savings are headquartered in Kansas City itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Kansas CityOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Security Bank of Kansas City834Kansas City, KSNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Bank of Labor26Overland Park, KSNot reported
Capitol Federal Savings Bank246Topeka, KSNot reported
Commerce Bank2153Kansas City, MONot reported
NBH Bank295Greenwood Village, CONot reported
UMB Bank, National Association2199Kansas City, MONot reported
Academy Bank, National Association180Kansas City, MONot reported
Argentine Federal Savings12Kansas City, KSNot reported
Enterprise Bank & Trust157Clayton, MONot reported
First Federal Bank of Kansas City19Lees Summit, MONot reported
First National Bank of Omaha1122Omaha, NENot reported
First State Bank and Trust17Tonganoxie, KSNot reported
Liberty Bank and Trust Company117New Orleans, LANot reported
Oakstar Bank127Springfield, MONot reported
The Central Trust Bank1166Jefferson City, MONot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in Kansas City figures actually show

The numbers published here for Kansas City, KS are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 32 and institutions represented of 17.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Kansas City, KS matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Kansas City, KS and how it sits inside Kansas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Kansas.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

Where Kansas City, KS sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Kansas City, KS against Kansas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Common questions

How current is the atm in Kansas City data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Kansas City, KS?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 32.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Kansas

Methodology

The 32 branch locations listed for Kansas City come from the federal branch files, filtered to Kansas City, KS and matched to the 17 institutions we hold profiles for.

32 of the 32 Kansas City records carry a street address and 32 carry coordinates, which is how the 13.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Security Bank of Kansas City is the largest presence in Kansas City with 8 of the 32 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.