Banks in Roanoke, VA

Banks in Roanoke, VA: 50 branches on record from 16 federally insured institutions, spread over 8 ZIP codes and 10.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Roanoke, VA

Branches on file
50
Institutions present
16
ZIP codes covered
8
Furthest two branches
10.9 mi apart

Roanoke has 50 bank branches on file across 16 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 8 of them (16% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside Virginia.

The records carry 50 street addresses and 50 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.1 miles from the centre point of all Roanoke branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 24011, 24012, 24013, 24014, 24015, 24017, 24018, 24019.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in RoanokeOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Truist Bank81,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Pinnacle Bank6421Nashville, TNNot reported
Atlantic Union Bank5182Richmond City, VANot reported
Bank of Botetourt414Buchanan, VANot reported
HomeTrust Bank433Asheville, NCNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Carter Bank & Trust366Martinsville, VANot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company3517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Woodforest National Bank3741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Bank of the James222Lynchburg, VANot reported
First Bank233Strasburg, VANot reported
SKYLINE NATIONAL BANK228Independence, VANot reported
Citizens and Farmers Bank132West Point, VANot reported
CNB Bank181Clearfield, PANot reported
The First Bank and Trust Company133Lebanon, VANot reported
The National Bank of Blacksburg128Blacksburg, VANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Roanoke numbers

Every figure on this page for Roanoke, VA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 50 and institutions represented of 16.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Roanoke, VA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Roanoke, VA and how it sits inside Virginia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Virginia.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Roanoke, VA next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Roanoke, VA against Virginia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Frequently asked questions about Roanoke, VA

How current is the banks in Roanoke data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Roanoke, VA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 50.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Virginia

Methodology

The 50 branches listed for Roanoke come from the federal branch files, filtered to Roanoke, VA and matched to the 16 institutions we hold profiles for.

50 of the 50 Roanoke records carry a street address and 50 carry coordinates, which is how the 10.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Truist Bank is the largest presence in Roanoke with 8 of the 50 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.