Banks in Fredericksburg, VA

Banks in Fredericksburg, VA: 42 branches on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 10.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Fredericksburg, VA

Branches on file
42
Institutions present
15
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
10.1 mi apart

Fredericksburg has 42 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and Atlantic Union Bank accounts for 6 of them (14% of the city’s total). 3 of those institutions keep a single office here. 6 are headquartered inside Virginia.

The records carry 42 street addresses and 42 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.7 miles from the centre point of all Fredericksburg branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 22401, 22405, 22406, 22407, 22408.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in FredericksburgOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Atlantic Union Bank6182Richmond City, VANot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association54,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association42,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Truist Bank41,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Bank of America, National Association33,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company3106Alexandria, VANot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association35,116Columbus, OHNot reported
United Bank3235Fairfax, VANot reported
Carter Bank & Trust266Martinsville, VANot reported
Citizens and Farmers Bank232West Point, VANot reported
Shore United Bank, National Association240Easton, MDNot reported
Woodforest National Bank2741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Blue Ridge Bank, National Association127Martinsville, VANot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company1517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company1976Buffalo, NYNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Fredericksburg figures actually show

The numbers published here for Fredericksburg, VA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 42 and institutions represented of 15.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Fredericksburg, VA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Fredericksburg, VA and how it sits inside Virginia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Virginia.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Putting Fredericksburg, VA next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Fredericksburg, VA against Virginia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Frequently asked questions about Fredericksburg, VA

How current is the banks in Fredericksburg data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Fredericksburg, VA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 42.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Virginia

Methodology

The 42 branches listed for Fredericksburg come from the federal branch files, filtered to Fredericksburg, VA and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.

42 of the 42 Fredericksburg records carry a street address and 42 carry coordinates, which is how the 10.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Atlantic Union Bank is the largest presence in Fredericksburg with 6 of the 42 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.