Banks in Charlottesville, VA

Banks in Charlottesville, VA: 42 branches on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 14.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Charlottesville, VA

Branches on file
42
Institutions present
15
ZIP codes covered
5
Furthest two branches
14.6 mi apart

Charlottesville has 42 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and Bank of America, National Association accounts for 6 of them (14% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 10 are headquartered inside Virginia.

The records carry 42 street addresses and 42 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.2 miles from the centre point of all Charlottesville branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 22901, 22902, 22903, 22904, 22911.

Virginia National Bank, Old Dominion National Bank are headquartered in Charlottesville itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in CharlottesvilleOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of America, National Association63,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Truist Bank51,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Virginia National Bank515Charlottesville, VANot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Atlantic Union Bank3182Richmond City, VANot reported
Bank of the James322Lynchburg, VANot reported
Carter Bank & Trust366Martinsville, VANot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association35,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Citizens and Farmers Bank232West Point, VANot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company2517Raleigh, NCNot reported
United Bank2235Fairfax, VANot reported
Blue Ridge Bank, National Association127Martinsville, VANot reported
First National Bank120Altavista, VANot reported
Old Dominion National Bank16Charlottesville, VANot reported
Pioneer Bank16Stanley, VANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Charlottesville figures actually show

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Charlottesville, VA are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 42 and institutions represented of 15.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Charlottesville, VA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Charlottesville, VA and how it sits inside Virginia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Virginia.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

Putting Charlottesville, VA next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Charlottesville, VA against Virginia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Frequently asked questions about Charlottesville, VA

How current is the banks in Charlottesville data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Charlottesville, VA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 42.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Virginia

Methodology

The 42 branches listed for Charlottesville come from the federal branch files, filtered to Charlottesville, VA and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.

42 of the 42 Charlottesville records carry a street address and 42 carry coordinates, which is how the 14.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of America, National Association is the largest presence in Charlottesville with 6 of the 42 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.