Banks in Arlington, VA
Banks in Arlington, VA: 52 branches on record from 24 federally insured institutions, spread over 8 ZIP codes and 6.3 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Arlington, VA
Arlington has 52 bank branches on file across 24 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 8 of them (15% of the city’s total). 13 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside Virginia.
The records carry 52 street addresses and 52 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.3 miles from the centre point of all Arlington branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 22201, 22202, 22203, 22204, 22205, 22206, 22207, 22209.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Arlington | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Truist Bank | 8 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 8 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 5 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 3 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| United Bank | 3 | 235 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| Citibank, National Association | 2 | 665 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Pennsylvania | 2 | 363 | Greenville, PA | Not reported |
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 2 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 2 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Presidential Bank, FSB | 2 | 10 | Bethesda, MD | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 2 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Atlantic Union Bank | 1 | 182 | Richmond City, VA | Not reported |
| Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 106 | Alexandria, VA | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 1 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank, National Association | 1 | 981 | Providence, RI | Not reported |
| EagleBank | 1 | 14 | Bethesda, MD | Not reported |
| First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 517 | Raleigh, NC | Not reported |
| FVCbank | 1 | 8 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| HSBC Bank USA, National Association | 1 | 23 | Tysons, VA | Not reported |
| John Marshall Bank | 1 | 8 | Reston, VA | Not reported |
| MainStreet Bank | 1 | 7 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| Pinnacle Bank | 1 | 421 | Nashville, TN | Not reported |
| The National Capital Bank of Washington | 1 | 4 | Washington, DC | Not reported |
| Trustar Bank | 1 | 6 | Great Falls, VA | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in Arlington numbers
Every figure on this page for Arlington, VA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 52 and institutions represented of 24.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Why the spread around Arlington, VA matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Arlington, VA and how it sits inside Virginia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Virginia.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
How Arlington, VA compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Arlington, VA against Virginia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Questions people ask about Arlington, VA
How current is the banks in Arlington data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Arlington, VA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 52.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Virginia
Methodology
The 52 branches listed for Arlington come from the federal branch files, filtered to Arlington, VA and matched to the 24 institutions we hold profiles for.
52 of the 52 Arlington records carry a street address and 52 carry coordinates, which is how the 6.3-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Truist Bank is the largest presence in Arlington with 8 of the 52 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.