Banks in Midlothian, VA

Banks in Midlothian, VA: 27 branches on record from 12 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 10.3 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Midlothian, VA

Branches on file
27
Institutions present
12
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
10.3 mi apart

Midlothian has 27 bank branches on file across 12 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 4 of them (15% of the city’s total). 3 of those institutions keep a single office here. 6 are headquartered inside Virginia.

The records carry 27 street addresses and 27 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.3 miles from the centre point of all Midlothian branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 23112, 23113.

Community Bankers' Bank is headquartered in Midlothian itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in MidlothianOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Truist Bank41,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association44,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Atlantic Union Bank3182Richmond City, VANot reported
Citizens and Farmers Bank332West Point, VANot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company2517Raleigh, NCNot reported
TowneBank281Portsmouth, VANot reported
United Bank2235Fairfax, VANot reported
Woodforest National Bank2741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Community Bankers' Bank11Midlothian, VANot reported
First Community Bank165Bluefield, VANot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association15,116Columbus, OHNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Midlothian data on this page

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Midlothian, VA are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 27 and institutions represented of 12.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Midlothian, VA and how it sits inside Virginia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Virginia.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

Where Midlothian, VA sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Midlothian, VA against Virginia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Questions people ask about Midlothian, VA

How current is the banks in Midlothian data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Midlothian, VA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 27.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Virginia

Methodology

The 27 branches listed for Midlothian come from the federal branch files, filtered to Midlothian, VA and matched to the 12 institutions we hold profiles for.

27 of the 27 Midlothian records carry a street address and 27 carry coordinates, which is how the 10.3-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Truist Bank is the largest presence in Midlothian with 4 of the 27 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.