Banks in Myrtle Beach, SC

Banks in Myrtle Beach, SC: 43 branches on record from 20 federally insured institutions, spread over 4 ZIP codes and 12.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Myrtle Beach, SC

Branches on file
43
Institutions present
20
ZIP codes covered
4
Furthest two branches
12.4 mi apart

Myrtle Beach has 43 bank branches on file across 20 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 4 of them (9% of the city’s total). 6 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside South Carolina.

The records carry 43 street addresses and 43 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.3 miles from the centre point of all Myrtle Beach branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 29572, 29577, 29579, 29588.

South Atlantic Bank, Coastal Carolina National Bank are headquartered in Myrtle Beach itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Myrtle BeachOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Truist Bank41,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Anderson Brothers Bank327Mullins, SCNot reported
Bank of America, National Association33,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company3517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Pinnacle Bank3421Nashville, TNNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association3363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
The Citizens Bank326Olanta, SCNot reported
The Conway National Bank316Conway, SCNot reported
First Reliance Bank211Florence, SCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
South Atlantic Bank212Myrtle Beach, SCNot reported
TD Bank, National Association21,051Wilmington, DENot reported
United Bank2235Fairfax, VANot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Coastal Carolina National Bank110Myrtle Beach, SCNot reported
First Palmetto Bank122Camden, SCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Southern Bank14Spartanburg, SCNot reported
United Community Bank1192Greenville, SCNot reported
Woodforest National Bank1741The Woodlands, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Myrtle Beach figures actually show

The numbers published here for Myrtle Beach, SC are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 43 and institutions represented of 20.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Myrtle Beach, SC matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Myrtle Beach, SC and how it sits inside South Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of South Carolina.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Myrtle Beach, SC next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Myrtle Beach, SC against South Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about Myrtle Beach, SC

How current is the banks in Myrtle Beach data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Myrtle Beach, SC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 43.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in South Carolina

Methodology

The 43 branches listed for Myrtle Beach come from the federal branch files, filtered to Myrtle Beach, SC and matched to the 20 institutions we hold profiles for.

43 of the 43 Myrtle Beach records carry a street address and 43 carry coordinates, which is how the 12.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Truist Bank is the largest presence in Myrtle Beach with 4 of the 43 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.