Banks in Charleston, SC

Banks in Charleston, SC: 68 branches on record from 26 federally insured institutions, spread over 10 ZIP codes and 16 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Charleston, SC

Branches on file
68
Institutions present
26
ZIP codes covered
10
Furthest two branches
16 mi apart

Charleston has 68 bank branches on file across 26 institutions, and Pinnacle Bank accounts for 9 of them (13% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside South Carolina.

The records carry 68 street addresses and 68 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.1 miles from the centre point of all Charleston branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 29401, 29403, 29405, 29406, 29407, 29412, 29414, 29420, 29424, 29492.

The Bank of South Carolina, First Capital Bank are headquartered in Charleston itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in CharlestonOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Pinnacle Bank9421Nashville, TNNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association7363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association64,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company5517Raleigh, NCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Truist Bank41,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Bank of America, National Association33,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
TD Bank, National Association31,051Wilmington, DENot reported
The Bank of South Carolina36Charleston, SCNot reported
United Bank3235Fairfax, VANot reported
Ameris Bank2169Atlanta, GANot reported
Beacon Community Bank26Mount Pleasant, SCNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association21,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania2363Greenville, PANot reported
United Community Bank2192Greenville, SCNot reported
Bank of the Lowcountry16Walterboro, SCNot reported
ENCORE BANK118Little Rock, ARNot reported
First Bank1114Southern Pines, NCNot reported
First Capital Bank14Charleston, SCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Regions Bank11,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
ServisFirst Bank134Birmingham, ALNot reported
South Atlantic Bank112Myrtle Beach, SCNot reported
Southern First Bank112Greenville, SCNot reported
The Huntington National Bank11,505Columbus, OHNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Charleston numbers

The numbers published here for Charleston, SC are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 68 and institutions represented of 26.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Charleston, SC matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Charleston, SC and how it sits inside South Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of South Carolina.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Charleston, SC next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Charleston, SC against South Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Charleston data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Charleston, SC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 68.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in South Carolina

Methodology

The 68 branches listed for Charleston come from the federal branch files, filtered to Charleston, SC and matched to the 26 institutions we hold profiles for.

68 of the 68 Charleston records carry a street address and 68 carry coordinates, which is how the 16-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Pinnacle Bank is the largest presence in Charleston with 9 of the 68 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.