Banks in Columbia, SC

Banks in Columbia, SC: 78 branches on record from 24 federally insured institutions, spread over 11 ZIP codes and 17.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Columbia, SC

Branches on file
78
Institutions present
24
ZIP codes covered
11
Furthest two branches
17.9 mi apart

Columbia has 78 bank branches on file across 24 institutions, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association accounts for 9 of them (12% of the city’s total). 8 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside South Carolina.

The records carry 78 street addresses and 78 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.8 miles from the centre point of all Columbia branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 29201, 29203, 29204, 29205, 29206, 29208, 29209, 29210, 29212, 29223, 29229.

OPTUS Bank is headquartered in Columbia itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in ColumbiaOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association94,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association83,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company8517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Truist Bank61,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association55,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Pinnacle Bank5421Nashville, TNNot reported
TD Bank, National Association51,051Wilmington, DENot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association4363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
Woodforest National Bank4741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Arthur State Bank319Union, SCNot reported
First Community Bank322Lexington, SCNot reported
Ameris Bank2169Atlanta, GANot reported
First Horizon Bank2414Memphis, TNNot reported
First Palmetto Bank222Camden, SCNot reported
OPTUS Bank22Columbia, SCNot reported
Security Federal Bank219Aiken, SCNot reported
Coastal Carolina National Bank110Myrtle Beach, SCNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association11,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
First Bank1114Southern Pines, NCNot reported
First Carolina Bank19Rocky Mount, NCNot reported
First Reliance Bank111Florence, SCNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Regions Bank11,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
United Community Bank1192Greenville, SCNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Columbia data on this page

The numbers published here for Columbia, SC are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 78 and institutions represented of 24.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Columbia, SC matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Columbia, SC and how it sits inside South Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of South Carolina.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

How Columbia, SC compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Columbia, SC against South Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Frequently asked questions about Columbia, SC

How current is the banks in Columbia data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Columbia, SC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 78.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in South Carolina

Methodology

The 78 branches listed for Columbia come from the federal branch files, filtered to Columbia, SC and matched to the 24 institutions we hold profiles for.

78 of the 78 Columbia records carry a street address and 78 carry coordinates, which is how the 17.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Columbia with 9 of the 78 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.