Banks in Madison, AL

Banks in Madison, AL: 27 branches on record from 19 federally insured institutions, spread over 3 ZIP codes and 8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Madison, AL

Branches on file
27
Institutions present
19
ZIP codes covered
3
Furthest two branches
8 mi apart

Madison has 27 bank branches on file across 19 institutions, and Regions Bank accounts for 4 of them (15% of the city’s total). 13 of those institutions keep a single office here. 5 are headquartered inside Alabama.

The records carry 27 street addresses and 27 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.5 miles from the centre point of all Madison branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 35756, 35757, 35758.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in MadisonOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Regions Bank41,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Bank Independent236Sheffield, ALNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
The Huntington National Bank21,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Truist Bank21,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
CB&S Bank, Inc.158Russellville, ALNot reported
EvaBank17Eva, ALNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association11,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
First Horizon Bank1414Memphis, TNNot reported
First National Bank of Pulaski114Pulaski, TNNot reported
Pinnacle Bank1421Nashville, TNNot reported
Premier Bank of the South19Cullman, ALNot reported
Renasant Bank1265Tupelo, MSNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association1363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
Trustmark Bank1176Jackson, MSNot reported
United Community Bank1192Greenville, SCNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association14,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Woodforest National Bank1741The Woodlands, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in Madison figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Madison, AL is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 27 and institutions represented of 19.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Madison, AL data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Madison, AL and how it sits inside Alabama against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Alabama.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Madison, AL next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Madison, AL against Alabama and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Questions people ask about Madison, AL

How current is the banks in Madison data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Madison, AL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 27.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Alabama

Methodology

The 27 branches listed for Madison come from the federal branch files, filtered to Madison, AL and matched to the 19 institutions we hold profiles for.

27 of the 27 Madison records carry a street address and 27 carry coordinates, which is how the 8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Regions Bank is the largest presence in Madison with 4 of the 27 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.