Banks in Auburn, AL

Banks in Auburn, AL: 25 branches on record from 20 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 4.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Auburn, AL

Branches on file
25
Institutions present
20
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
4.5 mi apart

Auburn has 25 bank branches on file across 20 institutions, and AuburnBank accounts for 3 of them (12% of the city’s total). 16 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Alabama.

The records carry 25 street addresses and 25 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.4 miles from the centre point of all Auburn branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 36830, 36832.

AuburnBank is headquartered in Auburn itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in AuburnOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
AuburnBank37Auburn, ALNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
River Bank & Trust225Prattville, ALNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
AmeriFirst Bank16Montgomery, ALNot reported
CB&S Bank, Inc.158Russellville, ALNot reported
FirstBank1133Nashville, TNNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association15,116Columbus, OHNot reported
MidSouth Bank114Dothan, ALNot reported
PeoplesSouth Bank134Colquitt, GANot reported
Regions Bank11,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Renasant Bank1265Tupelo, MSNot reported
ServisFirst Bank134Birmingham, ALNot reported
SmartBank143Pigeon Forge, TNNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association1363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
The Huntington National Bank11,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Troy Bank & Trust Company113Troy, ALNot reported
Truist Bank11,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Trustmark Bank1176Jackson, MSNot reported
Valley National Bank1232Passaic, NJNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Auburn numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Auburn, AL are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 25 and institutions represented of 20.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Turning the Auburn, AL data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Auburn, AL and how it sits inside Alabama against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Alabama.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

Putting Auburn, AL next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Auburn, AL against Alabama and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Auburn data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Auburn, AL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 25.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Alabama

Methodology

The 25 branches listed for Auburn come from the federal branch files, filtered to Auburn, AL and matched to the 20 institutions we hold profiles for.

25 of the 25 Auburn records carry a street address and 25 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

AuburnBank is the largest presence in Auburn with 3 of the 25 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.