Banks in Birmingham, AL

Banks in Birmingham, AL: 122 branches on record from 35 federally insured institutions, spread over 21 ZIP codes and 23.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Birmingham, AL

Branches on file
122
Institutions present
35
ZIP codes covered
21
Furthest two branches
23.5 mi apart

Birmingham has 122 bank branches on file across 35 institutions, and Regions Bank accounts for 27 of them (22% of the city’s total). 17 of those institutions keep a single office here. 16 are headquartered inside Alabama.

The records carry 122 street addresses and 122 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.7 miles from the centre point of all Birmingham branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 35203, 35205, 35206, 35207, 35208, 35209, 35210, 35211, 35212, 35213, 35214, 35215 and 9 more.

Regions Bank, ServisFirst Bank, SouthPoint Bank, BHM Bank, CommerceOne Bank, First US Bank, Oakworth Capital Bank are headquartered in Birmingham itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in BirminghamOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Regions Bank271,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association152,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association124,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Pinnacle Bank7421Nashville, TNNot reported
The Huntington National Bank61,505Columbus, OHNot reported
FirstBank5133Nashville, TNNot reported
Bryant Bank419Tuscaloosa, ALNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association45,116Columbus, OHNot reported
First Horizon Bank3414Memphis, TNNot reported
Renasant Bank3265Tupelo, MSNot reported
Trustmark Bank3176Jackson, MSNot reported
United Community Bank3192Greenville, SCNot reported
Woodforest National Bank3741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association21,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
ServisFirst Bank234Birmingham, ALNot reported
SouthPoint Bank211Birmingham, ALNot reported
Truist Bank21,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Valley National Bank2232Passaic, NJNot reported
BankFirst Financial Services150Columbus, MSNot reported
BHM Bank11Birmingham, ALNot reported
CB&S Bank, Inc.158Russellville, ALNot reported
Central State Bank17Calera, ALNot reported
Citizens Trust Bank17Atlanta, GANot reported
CommerceOne Bank12Birmingham, ALNot reported
Community Bank of Mississippi156Flowood, MSNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Birmingham numbers

The numbers published here for Birmingham, AL are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 122 and institutions represented of 35.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Why the spread around Birmingham, AL matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Birmingham, AL and how it sits inside Alabama against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Alabama.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Where Birmingham, AL sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Birmingham, AL against Alabama and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Questions people ask about Birmingham, AL

How current is the banks in Birmingham data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Birmingham, AL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 122.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Alabama

Methodology

The 122 branches listed for Birmingham come from the federal branch files, filtered to Birmingham, AL and matched to the 35 institutions we hold profiles for.

122 of the 122 Birmingham records carry a street address and 122 carry coordinates, which is how the 23.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Regions Bank is the largest presence in Birmingham with 27 of the 122 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.