Banks in Cullman, AL

Banks in Cullman, AL: 22 branches on record from 13 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 11.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Cullman, AL

Branches on file
22
Institutions present
13
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
11.4 mi apart

Cullman has 22 bank branches on file across 13 institutions, and Cullman Savings Bank accounts for 4 of them (18% of the city’s total). 7 of those institutions keep a single office here. 8 are headquartered inside Alabama.

The records carry 22 street addresses and 22 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.7 miles from the centre point of all Cullman branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 35055, 35058.

Cullman Savings Bank, Peoples Bank of Alabama, Premier Bank of the South, Traditions Bank are headquartered in Cullman itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in CullmanOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Cullman Savings Bank45Cullman, ALNot reported
SouthPoint Bank311Birmingham, ALNot reported
Citizens Bank & Trust210Guntersville, ALNot reported
EvaBank27Eva, ALNot reported
Peoples Bank of Alabama228Cullman, ALNot reported
Premier Bank of the South29Cullman, ALNot reported
First National Bank of Pulaski114Pulaski, TNNot reported
FirstBank1133Nashville, TNNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association12,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Regions Bank11,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Traditions Bank16Cullman, ALNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association14,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Woodforest National Bank1741The Woodlands, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Cullman numbers

The numbers published here for Cullman, AL are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 22 and institutions represented of 13.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Cullman, AL data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Cullman, AL and how it sits inside Alabama against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Alabama.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Where Cullman, AL sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Cullman, AL against Alabama and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Cullman, AL

How current is the banks in Cullman data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Cullman, AL?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 22.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Alabama

Methodology

The 22 branches listed for Cullman come from the federal branch files, filtered to Cullman, AL and matched to the 13 institutions we hold profiles for.

22 of the 22 Cullman records carry a street address and 22 carry coordinates, which is how the 11.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Cullman Savings Bank is the largest presence in Cullman with 4 of the 22 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.