ATM in Knoxville, TN

ATM in Knoxville, TN: 122 branch locations on record from 32 federally insured institutions, spread over 17 ZIP codes and 26.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Knoxville, TN

Branches on file
122
Institutions present
32
ZIP codes covered
17
Furthest two branches
26.8 mi apart

Knoxville has 122 bank branches on file across 32 institutions, and First Horizon Bank accounts for 18 of them (15% of the city’s total). 12 of those institutions keep a single office here. 17 are headquartered inside Tennessee.

The records carry 122 street addresses and 122 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 6.1 miles from the centre point of all Knoxville branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 37902, 37912, 37914, 37916, 37917, 37918, 37919, 37920, 37921, 37922, 37923, 37924 and 5 more.

Home Federal Bank of Tennessee, UBank are headquartered in Knoxville itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in KnoxvilleOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
First Horizon Bank18414Memphis, TNNot reported
Regions Bank161,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Home Federal Bank of Tennessee1523Knoxville, TNNot reported
Truist Bank111,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association61,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Pinnacle Bank5421Nashville, TNNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association41,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
SouthEast Bank415Farragut, TNNot reported
Bank of America, National Association33,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Citizens Bank314Elizabethton, TNNot reported
Commercial Bank340Harrogate, TNNot reported
FirstBank3133Nashville, TNNot reported
FSNB, National Association366Lawton, OKNot reported
SmartBank343Pigeon Forge, TNNot reported
TNBANK36Oak Ridge, TNNot reported
Apex Bank222Camden, TNNot reported
Centennial Bank2236Conway, ARNot reported
First Century Bank212Tazewell, TNNot reported
First Peoples Bank of Tennessee25Jefferson City, TNNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company2517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Bank of Tennessee123Kingsport, TNNot reported
Builtwell Bank136Chattanooga, TNNot reported
Citizens National Bank121Sevierville, TNNot reported
First US Bank116Birmingham, ALNot reported
Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company139New Orleans, LANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Knoxville numbers

The numbers published here for Knoxville, TN are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 122 and institutions represented of 32.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Knoxville, TN and how it sits inside Tennessee against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Tennessee.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

Where Knoxville, TN sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Knoxville, TN against Tennessee and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Frequently asked questions about Knoxville, TN

How current is the atm in Knoxville data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Knoxville, TN?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 122.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Tennessee

Methodology

The 122 branch locations listed for Knoxville come from the federal branch files, filtered to Knoxville, TN and matched to the 32 institutions we hold profiles for.

122 of the 122 Knoxville records carry a street address and 122 carry coordinates, which is how the 26.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

First Horizon Bank is the largest presence in Knoxville with 18 of the 122 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.