ATM in Memphis, TN
ATM in Memphis, TN: 124 branch locations on record from 31 federally insured institutions, spread over 21 ZIP codes and 18.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Memphis, TN
Memphis has 124 bank branches on file across 31 institutions, and Regions Bank accounts for 20 of them (16% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 12 are headquartered inside Tennessee.
The records carry 124 street addresses and 124 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.9 miles from the centre point of all Memphis branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 38103, 38104, 38105, 38109, 38111, 38112, 38114, 38115, 38116, 38117, 38118, 38119 and 9 more.
First Horizon Bank, Independent Bank, Paragon Bank, Bank3, Financial Federal Bank are headquartered in Memphis itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Memphis | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regions Bank | 20 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 16 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 10 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 7 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Pinnacle Bank | 7 | 421 | Nashville, TN | Not reported |
| Independent Bank | 6 | 12 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 6 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 5 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Simmons Bank | 5 | 227 | Pine Bluff, AR | Not reported |
| FSNB, National Association | 4 | 66 | Lawton, OK | Not reported |
| Trustmark Bank | 4 | 176 | Jackson, MS | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 4 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Evolve Bank & Trust | 3 | 10 | West Memphis, AR | Not reported |
| Paragon Bank | 3 | 10 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| Renasant Bank | 3 | 265 | Tupelo, MS | Not reported |
| Bank of England | 2 | 145 | England, AR | Not reported |
| Bank3 | 2 | 7 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| BankTennessee | 2 | 11 | Collierville, TN | Not reported |
| Commercial Bank & Trust Co. | 2 | 10 | Paris, TN | Not reported |
| Guaranty Bank and Trust Company | 2 | 41 | Belzoni, MS | Not reported |
| Bank of Bartlett | 1 | 7 | Bartlett, TN | Not reported |
| Brighton Bank | 1 | 2 | Brighton, TN | Not reported |
| Community Bank of Mississippi | 1 | 56 | Flowood, MS | Not reported |
| Financial Federal Bank | 1 | 1 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Eastern Arkansas | 1 | 15 | Forrest City, AR | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
What the atm in Memphis figures actually show
Every figure on this page for Memphis, TN is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 124 and institutions represented of 31.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Memphis, TN and how it sits inside Tennessee against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Tennessee.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
Putting Memphis, TN next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Memphis, TN against Tennessee and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Common questions
How current is the atm in Memphis data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Memphis, TN?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 124.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Tennessee
Methodology
The 124 branch locations listed for Memphis come from the federal branch files, filtered to Memphis, TN and matched to the 31 institutions we hold profiles for.
124 of the 124 Memphis records carry a street address and 124 carry coordinates, which is how the 18.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Regions Bank is the largest presence in Memphis with 20 of the 124 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.