ATM in San Jose, CA
ATM in San Jose, CA: 121 branch locations on record from 25 federally insured institutions, spread over 27 ZIP codes and 16.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in San Jose, CA
San Jose has 121 bank branches on file across 25 institutions, and Bank of America, National Association accounts for 22 of them (18% of the city’s total). 15 of those institutions keep a single office here. 13 are headquartered inside California.
The records carry 121 street addresses and 121 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.1 miles from the centre point of all San Jose branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 95110, 95111, 95112, 95113, 95116, 95117, 95118, 95119, 95120, 95121, 95122, 95123 and 15 more.
Avidbank is headquartered in San Jose itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in San Jose | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America, National Association | 22 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 22 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 19 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 12 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| BMO Bank National Association | 10 | 967 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Citibank, National Association | 9 | 665 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 6 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Cathay Bank | 2 | 66 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| East West Bank | 2 | 96 | Pasadena, CA | Not reported |
| Poppy Bank | 2 | 42 | Santa Rosa, CA | Not reported |
| Avidbank | 1 | 3 | San Jose, CA | Not reported |
| Citizens Business Bank, National Association | 1 | 84 | Ontario, CA | Not reported |
| City National Bank | 1 | 71 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Columbia Bank | 1 | 259 | Roseburg, OR | Not reported |
| Commercial Bank of California | 1 | 10 | Irvine, CA | Not reported |
| First Commercial Bank (USA) | 1 | 8 | Alhambra, CA | Not reported |
| First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 517 | Raleigh, NC | Not reported |
| Fremont Bank | 1 | 23 | Fremont, CA | Not reported |
| GBC International Bank | 1 | 8 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Metropolitan Bank | 1 | 4 | Oakland, CA | Not reported |
| United Business Bank | 1 | 34 | Walnut Creek, CA | Not reported |
| WaFd Bank | 1 | 177 | Seattle, WA | Not reported |
| West Coast Community Bank | 1 | 11 | Santa Cruz, CA | Not reported |
| Western Alliance Bank | 1 | 38 | Phoenix, AZ | Not reported |
| Zions Bancorporation, N.A. | 1 | 412 | Salt Lake City, UT | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
How to read the atm in San Jose numbers
Start with one distinction: what we publish for San Jose, CA are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 121 and institutions represented of 25.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Turning the San Jose, CA data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish San Jose, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.
A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Putting San Jose, CA next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark San Jose, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
Questions people ask about San Jose, CA
How current is the atm in San Jose data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for San Jose, CA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 121.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in California
Methodology
The 121 branch locations listed for San Jose come from the federal branch files, filtered to San Jose, CA and matched to the 25 institutions we hold profiles for.
121 of the 121 San Jose records carry a street address and 121 carry coordinates, which is how the 16.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Bank of America, National Association is the largest presence in San Jose with 22 of the 121 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.