ATM in San Diego, CA

ATM in San Diego, CA: 184 branch locations on record from 37 federally insured institutions, spread over 29 ZIP codes and 30.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in San Diego, CA

Branches on file
184
Institutions present
37
ZIP codes covered
29
Furthest two branches
30.6 mi apart

San Diego has 184 bank branches on file across 37 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 33 of them (18% of the city’s total). 19 of those institutions keep a single office here. 17 are headquartered inside California.

The records carry 184 street addresses and 184 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 7.1 miles from the centre point of all San Diego branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 92101, 92103, 92104, 92105, 92106, 92107, 92108, 92109, 92110, 92111, 92113, 92114 and 17 more.

California Bank of Commerce, National Association, Axos Bank, Endeavor Bank, Home Bank of California are headquartered in San Diego itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in San DiegoOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association335,116Columbus, OHNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association301,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association284,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association253,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.7412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Citibank, National Association6665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association61,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Banc of California485Los Angeles, CANot reported
Banner Bank4113Walla Walla, WANot reported
Mechanics Bank4170Walnut Creek, CANot reported
Western Alliance Bank438Phoenix, AZNot reported
California Bank of Commerce, National Association214San Diego, CANot reported
Citizens Business Bank, National Association284Ontario, CANot reported
City National Bank271Los Angeles, CANot reported
Columbia Bank2259Roseburg, ORNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association22,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Poppy Bank242Santa Rosa, CANot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association2101Dallas, TXNot reported
American Business Bank110Los Angeles, CANot reported
Axos Bank13San Diego, CANot reported
Bank of England1145England, ARNot reported
Bank of Hope178Los Angeles, CANot reported
BMO Bank National Association1967Chicago, ILNot reported
CalPrivate Bank17La Jolla, CANot reported
Cathay Bank166Los Angeles, CANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in San Diego figures actually show

The numbers published here for San Diego, CA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 184 and institutions represented of 37.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish San Diego, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

How San Diego, CA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark San Diego, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about San Diego, CA

How current is the atm in San Diego data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for San Diego, CA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 184.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in California

Methodology

The 184 branch locations listed for San Diego come from the federal branch files, filtered to San Diego, CA and matched to the 37 institutions we hold profiles for.

184 of the 184 San Diego records carry a street address and 184 carry coordinates, which is how the 30.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in San Diego with 33 of the 184 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.