ATM in Oakland, CA

ATM in Oakland, CA: 56 branch locations on record from 27 federally insured institutions, spread over 11 ZIP codes and 9.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Oakland, CA

Branches on file
56
Institutions present
27
ZIP codes covered
11
Furthest two branches
9.2 mi apart

Oakland has 56 bank branches on file across 27 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 9 of them (16% of the city’s total). 20 of those institutions keep a single office here. 16 are headquartered inside California.

The records carry 56 street addresses and 56 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.8 miles from the centre point of all Oakland branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 94601, 94602, 94605, 94606, 94607, 94610, 94611, 94612, 94618, 94619, 94621.

Metropolitan Bank, Beneficial State Bank, Gateway Bank, F.S.B., Summit Bank are headquartered in Oakland itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in OaklandOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association95,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association74,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association63,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Citibank, National Association5665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
BMO Bank National Association4967Chicago, ILNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association31,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Metropolitan Bank24Oakland, CANot reported
Bank of Marin129Novato, CANot reported
Bank of the Orient111San Francisco, CANot reported
Beneficial State Bank16Oakland, CANot reported
Cathay Bank166Los Angeles, CANot reported
Citizens Business Bank, National Association184Ontario, CANot reported
City National Bank171Los Angeles, CANot reported
Commercial Bank of California110Irvine, CANot reported
East West Bank196Pasadena, CANot reported
EverBank, National Association142Jacksonville, FLNot reported
Farmers & Merchants Bank of Central California133Lodi, CANot reported
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of San Rafael14San Rafael, CANot reported
Fremont Bank123Fremont, CANot reported
Gateway Bank, F.S.B.12Oakland, CANot reported
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China USA, National Association114New York, NYNot reported
Mechanics Bank1170Walnut Creek, CANot reported
Summit Bank11Oakland, CANot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association1101Dallas, TXNot reported
United Business Bank134Walnut Creek, CANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Oakland numbers

The numbers published here for Oakland, CA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 56 and institutions represented of 27.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Turning the Oakland, CA data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Oakland, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How Oakland, CA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Oakland, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

Frequently asked questions about Oakland, CA

How current is the atm in Oakland data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Oakland, CA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 56.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in California

Methodology

The 56 branch locations listed for Oakland come from the federal branch files, filtered to Oakland, CA and matched to the 27 institutions we hold profiles for.

56 of the 56 Oakland records carry a street address and 56 carry coordinates, which is how the 9.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Oakland with 9 of the 56 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.