Banks in Newport News, VA
Banks in Newport News, VA: 19 branches on record from 12 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 12.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Newport News, VA
Newport News has 19 bank branches on file across 12 institutions, and TowneBank accounts for 4 of them (21% of the city’s total). 8 of those institutions keep a single office here. 4 are headquartered inside Virginia.
The records carry 19 street addresses and 19 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.9 miles from the centre point of all Newport News branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 23601, 23602, 23606, 23607, 23608.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Newport News | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TowneBank | 4 | 81 | Portsmouth, VA | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 3 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 2 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 2 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Atlantic Union Bank | 1 | 182 | Richmond City, VA | Not reported |
| Citizens and Farmers Bank | 1 | 32 | West Point, VA | Not reported |
| Fulton Bank, National Association | 1 | 227 | Lancaster, PA | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 1 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Primis Bank | 1 | 27 | Tappahannock, VA | Not reported |
| Southern Bank and Trust Company | 1 | 57 | Mount Olive, NC | Not reported |
| Woodforest National Bank | 1 | 741 | The Woodlands, TX | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Newport News data on this page
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Newport News, VA are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 19 and institutions represented of 12.
Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.
Why the spread around Newport News, VA matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Newport News, VA and how it sits inside Virginia against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Virginia.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
How Newport News, VA compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Newport News, VA against Virginia and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Common questions
How current is the banks in Newport News data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Newport News, VA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 19.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Virginia
Methodology
The 19 branches listed for Newport News come from the federal branch files, filtered to Newport News, VA and matched to the 12 institutions we hold profiles for.
19 of the 19 Newport News records carry a street address and 19 carry coordinates, which is how the 12.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
TowneBank is the largest presence in Newport News with 4 of the 19 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.