Banks in Murrells Inlet, SC
Banks in Murrells Inlet, SC: 13 branches on record from 13 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 3.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Murrells Inlet, SC
Murrells Inlet has 13 bank branches on file across 13 institutions, and Anderson Brothers Bank accounts for 1 of them (8% of the city’s total). 13 of those institutions keep a single office here. 6 are headquartered inside South Carolina.
The records carry 13 street addresses and 13 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.1 miles from the centre point of all Murrells Inlet branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 29576.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Murrells Inlet | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anderson Brothers Bank | 1 | 27 | Mullins, SC | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 1 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Coastal Carolina National Bank | 1 | 10 | Myrtle Beach, SC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| South Atlantic Bank | 1 | 12 | Myrtle Beach, SC | Not reported |
| SouthState Bank, National Association | 1 | 363 | Winter Haven, FL | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 1 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| The Citizens Bank | 1 | 26 | Olanta, SC | Not reported |
| The Conway National Bank | 1 | 16 | Conway, SC | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 1 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| United Bank | 1 | 235 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| United Community Bank | 1 | 192 | Greenville, SC | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Murrells Inlet data on this page
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Murrells Inlet, SC are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 13 and institutions represented of 13.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Turning the Murrells Inlet, SC data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Murrells Inlet, SC and how it sits inside South Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of South Carolina.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
How Murrells Inlet, SC compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Murrells Inlet, SC against South Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Common questions
How current is the banks in Murrells Inlet data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Murrells Inlet, SC?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 13.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in South Carolina
Methodology
The 13 branches listed for Murrells Inlet come from the federal branch files, filtered to Murrells Inlet, SC and matched to the 13 institutions we hold profiles for.
13 of the 13 Murrells Inlet records carry a street address and 13 carry coordinates, which is how the 3.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Anderson Brothers Bank is the largest presence in Murrells Inlet with 1 of the 13 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.