Banks in Annapolis, MD
Banks in Annapolis, MD: 27 branches on record from 19 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 4.5 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Annapolis, MD
Annapolis has 27 bank branches on file across 19 institutions, and Truist Bank accounts for 4 of them (15% of the city’s total). 14 of those institutions keep a single office here. 3 are headquartered inside Maryland.
The records carry 27 street addresses and 27 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.2 miles from the centre point of all Annapolis branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 21401, 21403.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Annapolis | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Truist Bank | 4 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 3 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 2 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 2 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 2 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Arundel Bank | 1 | 4 | Glen Burnie, MD | Not reported |
| Atlantic Union Bank | 1 | 182 | Richmond City, VA | Not reported |
| Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 106 | Alexandria, VA | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 1 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| CFG Bank | 1 | 3 | Lutherville, MD | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Pennsylvania | 1 | 363 | Greenville, PA | Not reported |
| First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 517 | Raleigh, NC | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 1 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Shore United Bank, National Association | 1 | 40 | Easton, MD | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 1 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| United Bank | 1 | 235 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| USAA Federal Savings Bank | 1 | 5 | Phoenix, AZ | Not reported |
| WesBanco Bank, Inc. | 1 | 219 | Wheeling, WV | Not reported |
| Wilmington Trust, National Association | 1 | 41 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Annapolis data on this page
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Annapolis, MD are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 27 and institutions represented of 19.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Why the spread around Annapolis, MD matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Annapolis, MD and how it sits inside Maryland against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Maryland.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
Putting Annapolis, MD next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Annapolis, MD against Maryland and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Frequently asked questions about Annapolis, MD
How current is the banks in Annapolis data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Annapolis, MD?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 27.
Sources, method and limits
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Maryland
Methodology
The 27 branches listed for Annapolis come from the federal branch files, filtered to Annapolis, MD and matched to the 19 institutions we hold profiles for.
27 of the 27 Annapolis records carry a street address and 27 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.5-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Truist Bank is the largest presence in Annapolis with 4 of the 27 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.