Banks in Salisbury, MD

Banks in Salisbury, MD: 25 branches on record from 10 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 6.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Salisbury, MD

Branches on file
25
Institutions present
10
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
6.1 mi apart

Salisbury has 25 bank branches on file across 10 institutions, and Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company accounts for 6 of them (24% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 3 are headquartered inside Maryland.

The records carry 25 street addresses and 25 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.7 miles from the centre point of all Salisbury branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 21801, 21804.

First Shore Federal Savings and Loan Association is headquartered in Salisbury itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in SalisburyOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company6106Alexandria, VANot reported
Hebron Savings Bank414Hebron, MDNot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company3976Buffalo, NYNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association32,404Wilmington, DENot reported
The Farmers Bank of Willards38Willards, MDNot reported
First Shore Federal Savings and Loan Association27Salisbury, MDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association13,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Truist Bank11,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Wilmington Trust, National Association141Wilmington, DENot reported
Woodforest National Bank1741The Woodlands, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in Salisbury numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Salisbury, MD are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 25 and institutions represented of 10.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Salisbury, MD matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Salisbury, MD and how it sits inside Maryland against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Maryland.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How Salisbury, MD compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Salisbury, MD against Maryland and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Frequently asked questions about Salisbury, MD

How current is the banks in Salisbury data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Salisbury, MD?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 25.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Maryland

Methodology

The 25 branches listed for Salisbury come from the federal branch files, filtered to Salisbury, MD and matched to the 10 institutions we hold profiles for.

25 of the 25 Salisbury records carry a street address and 25 carry coordinates, which is how the 6.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Burke & Herbert Bank & Trust Company is the largest presence in Salisbury with 6 of the 25 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.