Banks in Baltimore, MD
Banks in Baltimore, MD: 147 branches on record from 24 federally insured institutions, spread over 32 ZIP codes and 20 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Baltimore, MD
Baltimore has 147 bank branches on file across 24 institutions, and Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company accounts for 25 of them (17% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 6 are headquartered inside Maryland.
The records carry 147 street addresses and 147 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.4 miles from the centre point of all Baltimore branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 21201, 21202, 21205, 21206, 21208, 21209, 21210, 21211, 21212, 21213, 21215, 21216 and 20 more.
BayVanguard Bank, The Harbor Bank of Maryland, Homewood Federal Savings Bank are headquartered in Baltimore itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Baltimore | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 25 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 24 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 18 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 15 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 15 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 10 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| BayVanguard Bank | 5 | 12 | Baltimore, MD | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Pennsylvania | 5 | 363 | Greenville, PA | Not reported |
| Fulton Bank, National Association | 5 | 227 | Lancaster, PA | Not reported |
| The Harbor Bank of Maryland | 5 | 7 | Baltimore, MD | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 3 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| Rosedale Bank | 3 | 14 | Nottingham, MD | Not reported |
| Orrstown Bank | 2 | 43 | Harrisburg, PA | Not reported |
| WesBanco Bank, Inc. | 2 | 219 | Wheeling, WV | Not reported |
| Atlantic Union Bank | 1 | 182 | Richmond City, VA | Not reported |
| CFG Bank | 1 | 3 | Lutherville, MD | Not reported |
| FVCbank | 1 | 8 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| Homewood Federal Savings Bank | 1 | 1 | Baltimore, MD | Not reported |
| Shore United Bank, National Association | 1 | 40 | Easton, MD | Not reported |
| Stifel Trust Company, National Association | 1 | 2 | Saint Louis, MO | Not reported |
| TD Bank, National Association | 1 | 1,051 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| United Bank | 1 | 235 | Fairfax, VA | Not reported |
| Univest Bank and Trust Co. | 1 | 51 | Souderton, PA | Not reported |
| Wilmington Trust, National Association | 1 | 41 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Baltimore data on this page
Every figure on this page for Baltimore, MD is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 147 and institutions represented of 24.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Turning the Baltimore, MD data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Baltimore, MD and how it sits inside Maryland against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Maryland.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
How Baltimore, MD compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Baltimore, MD against Maryland and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Frequently asked questions about Baltimore, MD
How current is the banks in Baltimore data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Baltimore, MD?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 147.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Maryland
Methodology
The 147 branches listed for Baltimore come from the federal branch files, filtered to Baltimore, MD and matched to the 24 institutions we hold profiles for.
147 of the 147 Baltimore records carry a street address and 147 carry coordinates, which is how the 20-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company is the largest presence in Baltimore with 25 of the 147 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.