Banks in Hagerstown, MD

Banks in Hagerstown, MD: 29 branches on record from 12 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 5.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Hagerstown, MD

Branches on file
29
Institutions present
12
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
5.7 mi apart

Hagerstown has 29 bank branches on file across 12 institutions, and Fulton Bank, National Association accounts for 4 of them (14% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 2 are headquartered inside Maryland.

The records carry 29 street addresses and 29 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.1 miles from the centre point of all Hagerstown branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 21740, 21742.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in HagerstownOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Fulton Bank, National Association4227Lancaster, PANot reported
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company4976Buffalo, NYNot reported
Truist Bank41,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
CNB Bank, Inc.39Berkeley Springs, WVNot reported
First United Bank & Trust323Oakland, MDNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association32,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Middletown Valley Bank28Middletown, MDNot reported
United Bank2235Fairfax, VANot reported
Ameriserv Financial Bank117Johnstown, PANot reported
Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Chambersburg125Chambersburg, PANot reported
Orrstown Bank143Harrisburg, PANot reported
Potomac Bank19Charles Town, WVNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Hagerstown data on this page

The numbers published here for Hagerstown, MD are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 29 and institutions represented of 12.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Hagerstown, MD and how it sits inside Maryland against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Maryland.

A difference of a few percent is inside the survey's own margin of error. A difference of a quarter or more is real, and it normally reflects the housing mix, the dominant local industries, or how much of the population is retired rather than working.

The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Where Hagerstown, MD sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Hagerstown, MD against Maryland and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Frequently asked questions about Hagerstown, MD

How current is the banks in Hagerstown data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Hagerstown, MD?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 29.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Maryland

Methodology

The 29 branches listed for Hagerstown come from the federal branch files, filtered to Hagerstown, MD and matched to the 12 institutions we hold profiles for.

29 of the 29 Hagerstown records carry a street address and 29 carry coordinates, which is how the 5.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Fulton Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Hagerstown with 4 of the 29 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.