Banks in San Rafael, CA

Banks in San Rafael, CA: 23 branches on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 4.7 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in San Rafael, CA

Branches on file
23
Institutions present
15
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
4.7 mi apart

San Rafael has 23 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and Bank of Marin accounts for 3 of them (13% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 7 are headquartered inside California.

The records carry 23 street addresses and 23 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.3 miles from the centre point of all San Rafael branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 94901, 94903.

Westamerica Bank, First Federal Savings and Loan Association of San Rafael are headquartered in San Rafael itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in San RafaelOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of Marin329Novato, CANot reported
Westamerica Bank375San Rafael, CANot reported
Bank of America, National Association23,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association25,116Columbus, OHNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association21,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association24,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Citibank, National Association1665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Citizens Business Bank, National Association184Ontario, CANot reported
Columbia Bank1259Roseburg, ORNot reported
EverBank, National Association142Jacksonville, FLNot reported
Exchange Bank121Santa Rosa, CANot reported
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of San Rafael14San Rafael, CANot reported
Mechanics Bank1170Walnut Creek, CANot reported
Poppy Bank142Santa Rosa, CANot reported
WaFd Bank1177Seattle, WANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

What the banks in San Rafael figures actually show

The numbers published here for San Rafael, CA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 23 and institutions represented of 15.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish San Rafael, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Five checks worth running first

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How San Rafael, CA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark San Rafael, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Frequently asked questions about San Rafael, CA

How current is the banks in San Rafael data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for San Rafael, CA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 23.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in California

Methodology

The 23 branches listed for San Rafael come from the federal branch files, filtered to San Rafael, CA and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.

23 of the 23 San Rafael records carry a street address and 23 carry coordinates, which is how the 4.7-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of Marin is the largest presence in San Rafael with 3 of the 23 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.