Banks in San Jose, CA

Banks in San Jose, CA: 121 branches on record from 25 federally insured institutions, spread over 27 ZIP codes and 16.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in San Jose, CA

Branches on file
121
Institutions present
25
ZIP codes covered
27
Furthest two branches
16.4 mi apart

San Jose has 121 bank branches on file across 25 institutions, and Bank of America, National Association accounts for 22 of them (18% of the city’s total). 15 of those institutions keep a single office here. 13 are headquartered inside California.

The records carry 121 street addresses and 121 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.1 miles from the centre point of all San Jose branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 95110, 95111, 95112, 95113, 95116, 95117, 95118, 95119, 95120, 95121, 95122, 95123 and 15 more.

Avidbank is headquartered in San Jose itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in San JoseOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of America, National Association223,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association225,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association194,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association121,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
BMO Bank National Association10967Chicago, ILNot reported
Citibank, National Association9665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association61,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Cathay Bank266Los Angeles, CANot reported
East West Bank296Pasadena, CANot reported
Poppy Bank242Santa Rosa, CANot reported
Avidbank13San Jose, CANot reported
Citizens Business Bank, National Association184Ontario, CANot reported
City National Bank171Los Angeles, CANot reported
Columbia Bank1259Roseburg, ORNot reported
Commercial Bank of California110Irvine, CANot reported
First Commercial Bank (USA)18Alhambra, CANot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company1517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Fremont Bank123Fremont, CANot reported
GBC International Bank18Los Angeles, CANot reported
Metropolitan Bank14Oakland, CANot reported
United Business Bank134Walnut Creek, CANot reported
WaFd Bank1177Seattle, WANot reported
West Coast Community Bank111Santa Cruz, CANot reported
Western Alliance Bank138Phoenix, AZNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.1412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

How to read the banks in San Jose numbers

Every figure on this page for San Jose, CA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 121 and institutions represented of 25.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around San Jose, CA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish San Jose, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

How San Jose, CA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark San Jose, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Common questions

How current is the banks in San Jose data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for San Jose, CA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 121.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in California

Methodology

The 121 branches listed for San Jose come from the federal branch files, filtered to San Jose, CA and matched to the 25 institutions we hold profiles for.

121 of the 121 San Jose records carry a street address and 121 carry coordinates, which is how the 16.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of America, National Association is the largest presence in San Jose with 22 of the 121 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.