Banks in San Diego, CA
Banks in San Diego, CA: 184 branches on record from 37 federally insured institutions, spread over 29 ZIP codes and 30.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in San Diego, CA
San Diego has 184 bank branches on file across 37 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 33 of them (18% of the city’s total). 19 of those institutions keep a single office here. 17 are headquartered inside California.
The records carry 184 street addresses and 184 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 7.1 miles from the centre point of all San Diego branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 92101, 92103, 92104, 92105, 92106, 92107, 92108, 92109, 92110, 92111, 92113, 92114 and 17 more.
California Bank of Commerce, National Association, Axos Bank, Endeavor Bank, Home Bank of California are headquartered in San Diego itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in San Diego | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 33 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| U.S. Bank National Association | 30 | 1,983 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 28 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 25 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Zions Bancorporation, N.A. | 7 | 412 | Salt Lake City, UT | Not reported |
| Citibank, National Association | 6 | 665 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 6 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| Banc of California | 4 | 85 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Banner Bank | 4 | 113 | Walla Walla, WA | Not reported |
| Mechanics Bank | 4 | 170 | Walnut Creek, CA | Not reported |
| Western Alliance Bank | 4 | 38 | Phoenix, AZ | Not reported |
| California Bank of Commerce, National Association | 2 | 14 | San Diego, CA | Not reported |
| Citizens Business Bank, National Association | 2 | 84 | Ontario, CA | Not reported |
| City National Bank | 2 | 71 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Columbia Bank | 2 | 259 | Roseburg, OR | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 2 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Poppy Bank | 2 | 42 | Santa Rosa, CA | Not reported |
| Sunflower Bank, National Association | 2 | 101 | Dallas, TX | Not reported |
| American Business Bank | 1 | 10 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| Axos Bank | 1 | 3 | San Diego, CA | Not reported |
| Bank of England | 1 | 145 | England, AR | Not reported |
| Bank of Hope | 1 | 78 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
| BMO Bank National Association | 1 | 967 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| CalPrivate Bank | 1 | 7 | La Jolla, CA | Not reported |
| Cathay Bank | 1 | 66 | Los Angeles, CA | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in San Diego numbers
The numbers published here for San Diego, CA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 184 and institutions represented of 37.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish San Diego, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.
Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.
That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.
Putting San Diego, CA next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark San Diego, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Frequently asked questions about San Diego, CA
How current is the banks in San Diego data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for San Diego, CA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 184.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in California
Methodology
The 184 branches listed for San Diego come from the federal branch files, filtered to San Diego, CA and matched to the 37 institutions we hold profiles for.
184 of the 184 San Diego records carry a street address and 184 carry coordinates, which is how the 30.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in San Diego with 33 of the 184 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.