Banks in Irvine, CA

Banks in Irvine, CA: 94 branches on record from 50 federally insured institutions, spread over 8 ZIP codes and 8.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Irvine, CA

Branches on file
94
Institutions present
50
ZIP codes covered
8
Furthest two branches
8.2 mi apart

Irvine has 94 bank branches on file across 50 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 15 of them (16% of the city’s total). 36 of those institutions keep a single office here. 31 are headquartered inside California.

The records carry 94 street addresses and 94 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.3 miles from the centre point of all Irvine branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 92602, 92603, 92604, 92606, 92612, 92614, 92618, 92620.

Bank Irvine, Beach Cities Commercial Bank, California Business Bank, Capital Bank and Trust Company, Commerce West Bank, Commercial Bank of California, Liberty Bank, National Association, Nano Banc are headquartered in Irvine itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in IrvineOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association155,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association84,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Bank of America, National Association73,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association61,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Cathay Bank366Los Angeles, CANot reported
East West Bank396Pasadena, CANot reported
Bank of England2145England, ARNot reported
BMO Bank National Association2967Chicago, ILNot reported
Citibank, National Association2665Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
City National Bank271Los Angeles, CANot reported
Columbia Bank2259Roseburg, ORNot reported
CTBC Bank Corp. (USA)220Los Angeles, CANot reported
PCB Bank219Los Angeles, CANot reported
Preferred Bank217Los Angeles, CANot reported
American Business Bank110Los Angeles, CANot reported
Banc of California185Los Angeles, CANot reported
Bank Irvine11Irvine, CANot reported
Bank of Hope178Los Angeles, CANot reported
Beach Cities Commercial Bank12Irvine, CANot reported
California Bank of Commerce, National Association114San Diego, CANot reported
California Business Bank11Irvine, CANot reported
Capital Bank and Trust Company12Irvine, CANot reported
Commerce West Bank11Irvine, CANot reported
Commercial Bank of California110Irvine, CANot reported
Commonwealth Business Bank113Los Angeles, CANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Irvine data on this page

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Irvine, CA are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 94 and institutions represented of 50.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

Turning the Irvine, CA data into a decision

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Irvine, CA and how it sits inside California against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of California.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Putting Irvine, CA next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Irvine, CA against California and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Frequently asked questions about Irvine, CA

How current is the banks in Irvine data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Irvine, CA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 94.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in California

Methodology

The 94 branches listed for Irvine come from the federal branch files, filtered to Irvine, CA and matched to the 50 institutions we hold profiles for.

94 of the 94 Irvine records carry a street address and 94 carry coordinates, which is how the 8.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Irvine with 15 of the 94 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.