Banks in Bay Minette, AL
Banks in Bay Minette, AL: 6 branches on record from 5 federally insured institutions, spread over 1 ZIP code and 0.9 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Bay Minette, AL
Bay Minette has 6 bank branches on file across 5 institutions, and United Bank accounts for 2 of them (33% of the city’s total). 4 of those institutions keep a single office here. 2 are headquartered inside Alabama.
The records carry 6 street addresses and 6 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 0.3 miles from the centre point of all Bay Minette branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 36507.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Wells Fargo Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 10.0 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Bay Minette | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United Bank | 2 | 19 | Atmore, AL | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 1 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Regions Bank | 1 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| Renasant Bank | 1 | 265 | Tupelo, MS | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 1 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in Bay Minette data on this page
The numbers published here for Bay Minette, AL are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 6 and institutions represented of 5.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Why the spread around Bay Minette, AL matters
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Bay Minette, AL and how it sits inside Alabama against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Alabama.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
Putting Bay Minette, AL next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Bay Minette, AL against Alabama and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
Frequently asked questions about Bay Minette, AL
How current is the banks in Bay Minette data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Bay Minette, AL?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 6.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Alabama
Methodology
The 6 branches listed for Bay Minette come from the federal branch files, filtered to Bay Minette, AL and matched to the 5 institutions we hold profiles for.
6 of the 6 Bay Minette records carry a street address and 6 carry coordinates, which is how the 0.9-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
United Bank is the largest presence in Bay Minette with 2 of the 6 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.