ATM in Salt Lake City, UT

ATM in Salt Lake City, UT: 96 branch locations on record from 35 federally insured institutions, spread over 17 ZIP codes and 15.1 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Salt Lake City, UT

Branches on file
96
Institutions present
35
ZIP codes covered
17
Furthest two branches
15.1 mi apart

Salt Lake City has 96 bank branches on file across 35 institutions, and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association accounts for 12 of them (13% of the city’s total). 24 of those institutions keep a single office here. 22 are headquartered inside Utah.

The records carry 96 street addresses and 96 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.4 miles from the centre point of all Salt Lake City branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 84101, 84102, 84104, 84106, 84107, 84108, 84109, 84111, 84115, 84116, 84117, 84119 and 5 more.

Zions Bancorporation, N.A., Brighton Bank, First Utah Bank, BMW Bank of North America, Celtic Bank, Column National Association, Continental Bank, First Electronic Bank, Home Savings Bank, Liberty Bank, Inc., Medallion Bank, Milestone Bank, Morgan Stanley Bank, National Association, Redemption Bank, Sallie Mae Bank, Square Financial Services, Inc., The Pitney Bowes Bank, Inc., Thrivent Bank, UBS Bank USA, National Association, WebBank are headquartered in Salt Lake City itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Salt Lake CityOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association124,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.12412Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
U.S. Bank National Association101,983Cincinnati, OHNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association95,116Columbus, OHNot reported
KeyBank National Association8891Cleveland, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association53,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Brighton Bank56Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
WaFd Bank4177Seattle, WANot reported
Bank of Utah319Ogden, UTNot reported
BMO Bank National Association2967Chicago, ILNot reported
First Utah Bank27Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
BMW Bank of North America11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Cache Valley Bank125Logan, UTNot reported
Celtic Bank11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Column National Association12Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Continental Bank11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
First American Trust, FSB111Santa Ana, CANot reported
First Electronic Bank11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Glacier Bank1258Kalispell, MTNot reported
Goldman Sachs Bank USA15New York, NYNot reported
Home Savings Bank11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Liberty Bank, Inc.11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Medallion Bank11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Milestone Bank11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported
Morgan Stanley Bank, National Association11Salt Lake City, UTNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

What the atm in Salt Lake City figures actually show

Every figure on this page for Salt Lake City, UT is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 96 and institutions represented of 35.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Salt Lake City, UT matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Salt Lake City, UT and how it sits inside Utah against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Utah.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.

Putting Salt Lake City, UT next to the alternatives

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Salt Lake City, UT against Utah and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.

Frequently asked questions about Salt Lake City, UT

How current is the atm in Salt Lake City data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Salt Lake City, UT?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 96.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Utah

Methodology

The 96 branch locations listed for Salt Lake City come from the federal branch files, filtered to Salt Lake City, UT and matched to the 35 institutions we hold profiles for.

96 of the 96 Salt Lake City records carry a street address and 96 carry coordinates, which is how the 15.1-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Wells Fargo Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Salt Lake City with 12 of the 96 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.