ATM in Aiken, SC

ATM in Aiken, SC: 17 branch locations on record from 12 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 5.2 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Aiken, SC

Branches on file
17
Institutions present
12
ZIP codes covered
2
Furthest two branches
5.2 mi apart

Aiken has 17 bank branches on file across 12 institutions, and Security Federal Bank accounts for 4 of them (24% of the city’s total). 9 of those institutions keep a single office here. 4 are headquartered inside South Carolina.

The records carry 17 street addresses and 17 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.5 miles from the centre point of all Aiken branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 29801, 29803.

Security Federal Bank is headquartered in Aiken itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in AikenOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Security Federal Bank419Aiken, SCNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company2517Raleigh, NCNot reported
Woodforest National Bank2741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
Bank of America, National Association13,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Coastal Carolina National Bank110Myrtle Beach, SCNot reported
First Community Bank122Lexington, SCNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association15,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Regions Bank11,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Southern Bank14Spartanburg, SCNot reported
SouthState Bank, National Association1363Winter Haven, FLNot reported
TD Bank, National Association11,051Wilmington, DENot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association14,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

How to read the atm in Aiken numbers

Start with one distinction: what we publish for Aiken, SC are medians, not averages.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 17 and institutions represented of 12.

Treat these as a baseline for picking a branch or an institution to bank with, not a quote. Your own position depends on details no dataset holds: credit history, the exact street, the specific product on offer this week.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Aiken, SC and how it sits inside South Carolina against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of South Carolina.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

How Aiken, SC compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Aiken, SC against South Carolina and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.

When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.

Questions people ask about Aiken, SC

How current is the atm in Aiken data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Aiken, SC?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 17.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in South Carolina

Methodology

The 17 branch locations listed for Aiken come from the federal branch files, filtered to Aiken, SC and matched to the 12 institutions we hold profiles for.

17 of the 17 Aiken records carry a street address and 17 carry coordinates, which is how the 5.2-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Security Federal Bank is the largest presence in Aiken with 4 of the 17 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.