ATM in New Orleans, LA

ATM in New Orleans, LA: 75 branch locations on record from 20 federally insured institutions, spread over 18 ZIP codes and 12.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in New Orleans, LA

Branches on file
75
Institutions present
20
ZIP codes covered
18
Furthest two branches
12.8 mi apart

New Orleans has 75 bank branches on file across 20 institutions, and Hancock Whitney Bank accounts for 11 of them (15% of the city’s total). 7 of those institutions keep a single office here. 11 are headquartered inside Louisiana.

The records carry 75 street addresses and 75 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3 miles from the centre point of all New Orleans branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 70112, 70113, 70114, 70115, 70117, 70118, 70119, 70122, 70124, 70125, 70126, 70127 and 6 more.

FIDELITY BANK, Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company, Liberty Bank and Trust Company, Fifth District Savings Bank, Hibernia Bank, Bank of Louisiana are headquartered in New Orleans itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in New OrleansOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Hancock Whitney Bank11193Gulfport, MSNot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association115,116Columbus, OHNot reported
FIDELITY BANK727New Orleans, LANot reported
First Horizon Bank7414Memphis, TNNot reported
Capital One, National Association6249Mclean, VANot reported
Regions Bank61,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company539New Orleans, LANot reported
Liberty Bank and Trust Company517New Orleans, LANot reported
BankPlus274Belzoni, MSNot reported
Fifth District Savings Bank27New Orleans, LANot reported
Hibernia Bank25New Orleans, LANot reported
Home Bank, National Association244Lafayette, LANot reported
M C Bank & Trust Company211Morgan City, LANot reported
Bank of Louisiana14New Orleans, LANot reported
First American Trust, FSB111Santa Ana, CANot reported
Investar Bank, National Association138Baton Rouge, LANot reported
Planters Bank & Trust Company133Indianola, MSNot reported
Red River Bank128Alexandria, LANot reported
Resource Bank111Covington, LANot reported
Woodforest National Bank1741The Woodlands, TXNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.

If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a national ATM database?

No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.

How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?

Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.

Reading the atm in New Orleans data on this page

Every figure on this page for New Orleans, LA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 75 and institutions represented of 20.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around New Orleans, LA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish New Orleans, LA and how it sits inside Louisiana against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Louisiana.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How New Orleans, LA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark New Orleans, LA against Louisiana and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Common questions

How current is the atm in New Orleans data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for New Orleans, LA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 75.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Louisiana

Methodology

The 75 branch locations listed for New Orleans come from the federal branch files, filtered to New Orleans, LA and matched to the 20 institutions we hold profiles for.

75 of the 75 New Orleans records carry a street address and 75 carry coordinates, which is how the 12.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Hancock Whitney Bank is the largest presence in New Orleans with 11 of the 75 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.