ATM in Lafayette, LA
ATM in Lafayette, LA: 67 branch locations on record from 29 federally insured institutions, spread over 5 ZIP codes and 8.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Lafayette, LA
Lafayette has 67 bank branches on file across 29 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 9 of them (13% of the city’s total). 14 of those institutions keep a single office here. 21 are headquartered inside Louisiana.
The records carry 67 street addresses and 67 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 2.1 miles from the centre point of all Lafayette branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 70501, 70503, 70506, 70507, 70508.
Home Bank, National Association is headquartered in Lafayette itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Lafayette | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 9 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 8 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| Hancock Whitney Bank | 6 | 193 | Gulfport, MS | Not reported |
| Home Bank, National Association | 6 | 44 | Lafayette, LA | Not reported |
| Gulf Coast Bank | 3 | 9 | Abbeville, LA | Not reported |
| JD Bank | 3 | 25 | Jennings, LA | Not reported |
| American Bank & Trust Company | 2 | 9 | Opelousas, LA | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 2 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| FIDELITY BANK | 2 | 27 | New Orleans, LA | Not reported |
| Investar Bank, National Association | 2 | 38 | Baton Rouge, LA | Not reported |
| Merchants & Marine Bank | 2 | 24 | Pascagoula, MS | Not reported |
| Rayne State Bank & Trust Company | 2 | 6 | Rayne, LA | Not reported |
| South Louisiana Bank | 2 | 10 | Houma, LA | Not reported |
| St. Landry Bank and Trust Company | 2 | 8 | Opelousas, LA | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 2 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| b1BANK | 1 | 63 | Baton Rouge, LA | Not reported |
| Bank of Sunset and Trust Company | 1 | 4 | Sunset, LA | Not reported |
| BankPlus | 1 | 74 | Belzoni, MS | Not reported |
| Catalyst Bank | 1 | 10 | Opelousas, LA | Not reported |
| CLB The Community Bank | 1 | 7 | Jonesville, LA | Not reported |
| Community First Bank | 1 | 9 | New Iberia, LA | Not reported |
| Cottonport Bank | 1 | 13 | Cottonport, LA | Not reported |
| First National Bank of Louisiana | 1 | 5 | Crowley, LA | Not reported |
| M C Bank & Trust Company | 1 | 11 | Morgan City, LA | Not reported |
| Red River Bank | 1 | 28 | Alexandria, LA | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
Fees are small. The habits behind them are not.
If cash withdrawals are how the budget gets away from you, a written plan fixes more than a fee refund.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a national ATM database?
No public one. This page lists FDIC-registered branch locations, which is where in-network machines are normally sited, and does not claim to list every cash machine.
How much does an out-of-network ATM cost?
Typically a surcharge from the machine operator plus a separate fee from your own bank, so a small withdrawal can cost several percent.
How to read the atm in Lafayette numbers
The numbers published here for Lafayette, LA are medians — the midpoint of the distribution rather than the mean.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 67 and institutions represented of 29.
They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.
Turning the Lafayette, LA data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Lafayette, LA and how it sits inside Louisiana against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Louisiana.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
The useful habit is to pair every figure with the cost it has to cover. Income against rent, loan size against income, price against what the same money buys one county over.
What to check before you commit
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
How Lafayette, LA compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Lafayette, LA against Louisiana and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Most contradictory statistics you meet online are definition mismatches rather than errors. Gross versus net, occupied versus advertised, applications versus originations: each pair produces a different headline from the same underlying reality.
Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.
Questions people ask about Lafayette, LA
How current is the atm in Lafayette data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Lafayette, LA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 67.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Three limits are worth stating plainly. Survey estimates carry a margin of error that widens as the area gets smaller. Reporting lags mean the most recent period on file is not the present. And a median cannot describe the tails — the cheapest and most expensive ends of any local market sit outside it by definition.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Louisiana
Methodology
The 67 branch locations listed for Lafayette come from the federal branch files, filtered to Lafayette, LA and matched to the 29 institutions we hold profiles for.
67 of the 67 Lafayette records carry a street address and 67 carry coordinates, which is how the 8.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Lafayette with 9 of the 67 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.