Banks in Plano, TX

Banks in Plano, TX: 100 branches on record from 44 federally insured institutions, spread over 6 ZIP codes and 11 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Plano, TX

Branches on file
100
Institutions present
44
ZIP codes covered
6
Furthest two branches
11 mi apart

Plano has 100 bank branches on file across 44 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 13 of them (13% of the city’s total). 25 of those institutions keep a single office here. 21 are headquartered inside Texas.

The records carry 100 street addresses and 100 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 3.3 miles from the centre point of all Plano branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 75023, 75024, 75025, 75074, 75075, 75093.

Benchmark Bank, Monet Bank are headquartered in Plano itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in PlanoOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association135,116Columbus, OHNot reported
Bank of America, National Association73,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
Prosperity Bank7400El Campo, TXNot reported
Wells Fargo Bank, National Association74,079Sioux Falls, SDNot reported
PNC Bank, National Association52,404Wilmington, DENot reported
Fifth Third Bank, National Association41,521Cincinnati, OHNot reported
Frost Bank4217San Antonio, TXNot reported
Truist Bank41,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Hancock Whitney Bank3193Gulfport, MSNot reported
Woodforest National Bank3741The Woodlands, TXNot reported
American First National Bank220Houston, TXNot reported
Bank OZK2272Little Rock, ARNot reported
BOKF, National Association2115Tulsa, OKNot reported
First National Bank of Omaha2122Omaha, NENot reported
First National Bank Texas2366Killeen, TXNot reported
First State Bank25Shallowater, TXNot reported
First United Bank and Trust Company285Durant, OKNot reported
Sunflower Bank, National Association2101Dallas, TXNot reported
The Huntington National Bank21,505Columbus, OHNot reported
Alliance Bank117Sulphur Springs, TXNot reported
American Bank of Commerce113Wolfforth, TXNot reported
Bank of England1145England, ARNot reported
Benchmark Bank18Plano, TXNot reported
Capital One, National Association1249Mclean, VANot reported
Cathay Bank166Los Angeles, CANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Plano data on this page

Every figure on this page for Plano, TX is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 100 and institutions represented of 44.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Plano, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

Where Plano, TX sits against the wider market

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Plano, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Questions people ask about Plano, TX

How current is the banks in Plano data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Plano, TX?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 100.

Method and limitations

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Texas

Methodology

The 100 branches listed for Plano come from the federal branch files, filtered to Plano, TX and matched to the 44 institutions we hold profiles for.

100 of the 100 Plano records carry a street address and 100 carry coordinates, which is how the 11-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Plano with 13 of the 100 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.