Banks in Houston, TX
Banks in Houston, TX: 608 branches on record from 81 federally insured institutions, spread over 85 ZIP codes and 43.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in Houston, TX
Houston has 500 bank branches on file across 37 institutions, and JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association accounts for 80 of them (16% of the city’s total). 11 of those institutions keep a single office here. 14 are headquartered inside Texas.
The records carry 500 street addresses and 500 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 8.4 miles from the centre point of all Houston branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 77002, 77003, 77004, 77005, 77006, 77007, 77008, 77009, 77011, 77012, 77014, 77015 and 73 more.
Central Bank, Texas Gulf Bank, National Association, Cornerstone Capital Bank, SSB, Global One Bank, Wells Fargo Bank South Central, National Association are headquartered in Houston itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in Houston | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 80 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Wells Fargo Bank, National Association | 62 | 4,079 | Sioux Falls, SD | Not reported |
| Bank of America, National Association | 48 | 3,557 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Prosperity Bank | 43 | 400 | El Campo, TX | Not reported |
| Frost Bank | 33 | 217 | San Antonio, TX | Not reported |
| First National Bank Texas | 32 | 366 | Killeen, TX | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 32 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| Fifth Third Bank, National Association | 29 | 1,521 | Cincinnati, OH | Not reported |
| The Huntington National Bank | 21 | 1,505 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Zions Bancorporation, N.A. | 17 | 412 | Salt Lake City, UT | Not reported |
| Regions Bank | 15 | 1,254 | Birmingham, AL | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 12 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Origin Bank | 9 | 57 | Choudrant, LA | Not reported |
| Bank OZK | 7 | 272 | Little Rock, AR | Not reported |
| BOKF, National Association | 7 | 115 | Tulsa, OK | Not reported |
| Trustmark Bank | 7 | 176 | Jackson, MS | Not reported |
| MidFirst Bank | 5 | 94 | Oklahoma City, OK | Not reported |
| PlainsCapital Bank | 5 | 57 | University Park, TX | Not reported |
| Capital One, National Association | 4 | 249 | Mclean, VA | Not reported |
| Central Bank | 4 | 4 | Houston, TX | Not reported |
| Hancock Whitney Bank | 4 | 193 | Gulfport, MS | Not reported |
| First Horizon Bank | 3 | 414 | Memphis, TN | Not reported |
| Texas Gulf Bank, National Association | 3 | 9 | Houston, TX | Not reported |
| The Northern Trust Company | 3 | 60 | Chicago, IL | Not reported |
| Plains State Bank | 2 | 8 | Humble, TX | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
How to read the banks in Houston numbers
Start with one distinction: what we publish for Houston, TX are medians, not averages.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 608 and institutions represented of 81.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
Turning the Houston, TX data into a decision
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Houston, TX and how it sits inside Texas against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Texas.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
Putting Houston, TX next to the alternatives
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Houston, TX against Texas and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
Any measure the source flags as unreliable is dropped rather than smoothed. That is why some pages carry fewer figures than others: the local market itself is thinly sampled.
A short checklist before you act
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
Frequently asked questions about Houston, TX
How current is the banks in Houston data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for Houston, TX?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 608.
Method and limitations
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Texas
Methodology
The 608 branches listed for Houston come from the federal branch files, filtered to Houston, TX and matched to the 81 institutions we hold profiles for.
500 of the 500 Houston records carry a street address and 500 carry coordinates, which is how the 43.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Houston with 80 of the 500 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.