Banks in Johnson City, TN

Banks in Johnson City, TN: 30 branches on record from 18 federally insured institutions, spread over 3 ZIP codes and 11.4 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Johnson City, TN

Branches on file
30
Institutions present
18
ZIP codes covered
3
Furthest two branches
11.4 mi apart

Johnson City has 30 bank branches on file across 18 institutions, and Bank of Tennessee accounts for 4 of them (13% of the city’s total). 10 of those institutions keep a single office here. 6 are headquartered inside Tennessee.

The records carry 30 street addresses and 30 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.8 miles from the centre point of all Johnson City branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 37601, 37604, 37615.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in Johnson CityOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
Bank of Tennessee423Kingsport, TNNot reported
Centennial Bank3236Conway, ARNot reported
First Horizon Bank3414Memphis, TNNot reported
Elizabethton Federal Savings Bank25Elizabethton, TNNot reported
First Community Bank265Bluefield, VANot reported
HomeTrust Bank233Asheville, NCNot reported
Regions Bank21,254Birmingham, ALNot reported
Truist Bank21,931Charlotte, NCNot reported
Andrew Johnson Bank18Greeneville, TNNot reported
Citizens Bank114Elizabethton, TNNot reported
Commercial Bank140Harrogate, TNNot reported
Eclipse Bank, Inc.14Louisville, KYNot reported
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Company1517Raleigh, NCNot reported
FSNB, National Association166Lawton, OKNot reported
Renasant Bank1265Tupelo, MSNot reported
The Bank of Marion117Marion, VANot reported
The First Bank and Trust Company133Lebanon, VANot reported
TruPoint Bank116Grundy, VANot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Johnson City data on this page

Every figure on this page for Johnson City, TN is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 30 and institutions represented of 18.

They describe the middle of the market, so they are a starting point for picking a branch or an institution to bank with and nothing more. Anyone quoting you a number will be pricing your file, not the median.

Why the spread around Johnson City, TN matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Johnson City, TN and how it sits inside Tennessee against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Tennessee.

Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.

Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.

How Johnson City, TN compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Johnson City, TN against Tennessee and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

What to check before you commit

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.

Frequently asked questions about Johnson City, TN

How current is the banks in Johnson City data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Johnson City, TN?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 30.

Sources, method and limits

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Tennessee

Methodology

The 30 branches listed for Johnson City come from the federal branch files, filtered to Johnson City, TN and matched to the 18 institutions we hold profiles for.

30 of the 30 Johnson City records carry a street address and 30 carry coordinates, which is how the 11.4-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

Bank of Tennessee is the largest presence in Johnson City with 4 of the 30 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.