Banks in State College, PA
Banks in State College, PA: 32 branches on record from 15 federally insured institutions, spread over 2 ZIP codes and 5.6 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.
What the branch files show in State College, PA
State College has 32 bank branches on file across 15 institutions, and First National Bank of Pennsylvania accounts for 7 of them (22% of the city’s total). 7 of those institutions keep a single office here. 9 are headquartered inside Pennsylvania.
The records carry 32 street addresses and 32 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 1.7 miles from the centre point of all State College branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 16801, 16803.
Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.9 complaints per $1bn of deposits.
The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.
| Institution | Branches in State College | Offices nationwide | Headquarters | Chartered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First National Bank of Pennsylvania | 7 | 363 | Greenville, PA | Not reported |
| Kish Bank | 4 | 18 | Belleville, PA | Not reported |
| Citizens Bank, National Association | 3 | 981 | Providence, RI | Not reported |
| PNC Bank, National Association | 3 | 2,404 | Wilmington, DE | Not reported |
| CNB Bank | 2 | 81 | Clearfield, PA | Not reported |
| Fulton Bank, National Association | 2 | 227 | Lancaster, PA | Not reported |
| Northwest Bank | 2 | 163 | Warren, PA | Not reported |
| Truist Bank | 2 | 1,931 | Charlotte, NC | Not reported |
| Ameriserv Financial Bank | 1 | 17 | Johnstown, PA | Not reported |
| First Citizens Community Bank | 1 | 44 | Mansfield, PA | Not reported |
| First Commonwealth Bank | 1 | 128 | Indiana, PA | Not reported |
| JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | 5,116 | Columbus, OH | Not reported |
| Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company | 1 | 976 | Buffalo, NY | Not reported |
| Old Dominion National Bank | 1 | 6 | Charlottesville, VA | Not reported |
| Reliance Savings Bank | 1 | 9 | Altoona, PA | Not reported |
Primary sources
- FDIC — BankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1
Institution records as of 2026-09-16.
A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan
If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.
Get matched with an advisorEditorial disclosure — Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.
Frequently asked questions
How many banks are near me?
Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.
Is my money safe at a small local bank?
Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.
Reading the banks in State College data on this page
Every figure on this page for State College, PA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.
A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 32 and institutions represented of 15.
Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.
What these numbers mean for people choosing where to open an account
Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish State College, PA and how it sits inside Pennsylvania against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Pennsylvania.
Gaps of a few percent are noise. Gaps of twenty or thirty percent are structural, and they usually trace back to something concrete: the mix of housing stock, how many households are renting rather than owning, the local employer base, or how far the nearest metro area is.
Read the measures as a set. Income on its own says little; income next to housing cost and next to what similar households pay elsewhere says a great deal.
How State College, PA compares
Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark State College, PA against Pennsylvania and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.
Definitions matter as much as the numbers. Two sources can both publish a "median rent" and mean different things — one including utilities, one not; one covering every unit, one only those recently let. Mixing them produces gaps that look meaningful and are not.
When the underlying sample is too small for a reliable estimate, we publish nothing for that measure rather than modelling a plausible-looking figure. Fewer numbers you can trust beats more you cannot.
Five checks worth running first
None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.
- Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
- Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
- Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.
- Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
- Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
- Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
Frequently asked questions about State College, PA
How current is the banks in State College data?
The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.
Why does another site show a different number for State College, PA?
Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.
Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?
As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 32.
How we built this page
The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.
Be aware of what the data cannot do. Small-area estimates are noisier than headline national ones, every source reports on a delay, and no median describes the outliers that people most often remember.
Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.
Other cities in Pennsylvania
Methodology
The 32 branches listed for State College come from the federal branch files, filtered to State College, PA and matched to the 15 institutions we hold profiles for.
32 of the 32 State College records carry a street address and 32 carry coordinates, which is how the 5.6-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.
First National Bank of Pennsylvania is the largest presence in State College with 7 of the 32 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.
Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.