Banks in Pittsburgh, PA

Banks in Pittsburgh, PA: 203 branches on record from 24 federally insured institutions, spread over 37 ZIP codes and 24.8 miles apart at their furthest. Addresses come straight from the federal branch files.

What the branch files show in Pittsburgh, PA

Branches on file
203
Institutions present
24
ZIP codes covered
37
Furthest two branches
24.8 mi apart

Pittsburgh has 203 bank branches on file across 24 institutions, and PNC Bank, National Association accounts for 32 of them (16% of the city’s total). 7 of those institutions keep a single office here. 13 are headquartered inside Pennsylvania.

The records carry 203 street addresses and 203 mapped coordinates; the average branch sits 4.4 miles from the centre point of all Pittsburgh branches. Branch ZIP codes on file: 15102, 15201, 15202, 15203, 15205, 15206, 15208, 15209, 15210, 15211, 15212, 15213 and 25 more.

Dollar Bank, Federal Savings Bank, SSB Bank, TriState Capital Bank, West View Savings Bank, BNY Mellon, National Association are headquartered in Pittsburgh itself, so decisions on local lending are made in town rather than out of state.

Of the institutions here with CFPB complaint data, Bank of America, National Association carries the lowest complaint rate at 6.7 complaints per $1bn of deposits.

The federal files list addresses, not opening hours, so we do not publish hours for these branches. Check the institution’s own branch page before travelling.

InstitutionBranches in PittsburghOffices nationwideHeadquartersChartered
PNC Bank, National Association322,404Wilmington, DENot reported
First National Bank of Pennsylvania26363Greenville, PANot reported
Dollar Bank, Federal Savings Bank2591Pittsburgh, PANot reported
Citizens Bank, National Association21981Providence, RINot reported
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association155,116Columbus, OHNot reported
KeyBank National Association13891Cleveland, OHNot reported
First Commonwealth Bank10128Indiana, PANot reported
The Huntington National Bank101,505Columbus, OHNot reported
WesBanco Bank, Inc.10219Wheeling, WVNot reported
Bank of America, National Association83,557Charlotte, NCNot reported
S&T Bank875Indiana, PANot reported
Northwest Bank5163Warren, PANot reported
Brentwood Bank413Bethel Park, PANot reported
SSB Bank33Pittsburgh, PANot reported
NEXTIER BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION234Kittanning, PANot reported
TriState Capital Bank22Pittsburgh, PANot reported
West View Savings Bank25Pittsburgh, PANot reported
Ameriserv Financial Bank117Johnstown, PANot reported
BNY Mellon, National Association128Pittsburgh, PANot reported
Community Bank114Carmichaels, PANot reported
The Bank of New York Mellon112New York, NYNot reported
The Bank of New York Mellon Trust Company, National Association110Los Angeles, CANot reported
The Farmers National Bank of Canfield185Canfield, OHNot reported
Union Savings Bank139Cincinnati, OHNot reported

Primary sources

  • FDICBankFind API endpoints /financials and /institutions (CERT key) · observed quarterly call reports, 2026 Q1

Institution records as of 2026-09-16.

A branch nearby is convenience, not a financial plan

If you are choosing where to hold savings, an advisor can tell you how much belongs in cash at all.

Get matched with an advisor

Editorial disclosure Some companies listed here are commercial brands. We select them editorially from public regulatory data and are never paid for placement or ranking. Read our full disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

How many banks are near me?

Each state and city page on this site shows the real number of FDIC-insured branches on record in that area, with the source file and its date.

Is my money safe at a small local bank?

Deposits are insured to the same $250,000 limit at a community bank as at the largest national bank, provided the institution is FDIC insured. Size does not change the cover.

Reading the banks in Pittsburgh data on this page

Every figure on this page for Pittsburgh, PA is a median, not an average, which matters more than it sounds.

A median is the midpoint: half of the local market sits above it and half below. Averages get dragged around by a handful of extreme values — one very expensive property, one unusually large loan, one graduate earning far more than their classmates — so a median is the safer number to plan against. Locations on record of 203 and institutions represented of 24.

Use them to frame picking a branch or an institution to bank with rather than to settle it. Your circumstances — credit, timing, the specific offer in front of you — move the outcome more than the local midpoint does.

Why the spread around Pittsburgh, PA matters

Context does most of the work here. A number is only high or low next to something else, so we publish Pittsburgh, PA and how it sits inside Pennsylvania against a wider benchmark on the same measure. State of Pennsylvania.

Small gaps tell you nothing — sampling error alone can produce them. Large gaps almost always have a physical cause: the age of the housing stock, commuting distance, the balance between renters and owners, or a single large employer setting local pay.

That is why a single figure should never carry a decision on its own. Read two or three measures together — what comes in, what housing costs, what is left — and the picture stops being ambiguous.

A short checklist before you act

None of this needs a spreadsheet. It needs the discipline of checking the same handful of things every time, whether you are picking a branch or an institution to bank with for the first time or the fifth.

  • Verify the branch is still open and staffed before you travel; registers lag closures by a quarter or more.
  • Check whether deposit insurance covers your full balance, and how joint accounts change that limit.
  • Ask what the number looks like in a bad year, not an average one, and make sure the plan still holds.
  • Write down the monthly number you can genuinely cover, not the maximum a lender or admissions office says you qualify for.
  • Compare at least three offers. Pricing on the same product varies more between providers than most people expect, and the gap is yours to keep.
  • Check the fee schedule and the fine print, not the headline rate — that is where the real cost usually hides.

How Pittsburgh, PA compares

Comparison is the fastest way to tell a genuinely unusual local market from an ordinary one. We benchmark Pittsburgh, PA against Pennsylvania and against the national picture on the same definitions, in the same period, so the difference you see is a real difference rather than an artefact of two datasets disagreeing.

Watch the denominator whenever a comparison surprises you. Whether a rate is calculated on all applications or only completed ones, on every unit or only those on the market, changes the answer more than the local market does.

Where a comparison would mislead, we leave it out instead of filling the gap. A blank means the source did not publish a reliable estimate for that local market, and inventing one would be worse than showing less.

Common questions

How current is the banks in Pittsburgh data?

The figures come from the most recent release of the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file, and we refresh the page when a new one is published. Public datasets run a reporting lag of several months to two years, so the latest available period is not the same as today.

Why does another site show a different number for Pittsburgh, PA?

Almost always because it is measuring something slightly different, or using an earlier release. Check the definition and the period before assuming one of the two is wrong; federal branch and office registers publish several near-identical measures with meaningfully different scopes.

Can I use this for picking a branch or an institution to bank with?

As a benchmark, yes — it tells you whether an offer or an asking price is normal for this local market. As a substitute for your own quote or estimate, no. Locations on record of 203.

How we built this page

The page is assembled from federal branch and office registers, specifically the FDIC office file and the NCUA credit union branch file. Nothing here is modelled from a proprietary black box: every figure traces to a published record, and where we derive a ratio we show both inputs so the arithmetic can be checked.

The limits are the usual three: sampling error grows as geography shrinks, published data always trails reality by months or years, and a midpoint says nothing about the extremes at either end of the local market.

Where a source revises a figure, the revised value replaces the old one rather than sitting alongside it, so the page always reflects the current official position. If you spot a number that looks wrong, it is worth telling us — corrections get made against the source record, not by guesswork.

Other cities in Pennsylvania

Methodology

The 203 branches listed for Pittsburgh come from the federal branch files, filtered to Pittsburgh, PA and matched to the 24 institutions we hold profiles for.

203 of the 203 Pittsburgh records carry a street address and 203 carry coordinates, which is how the 24.8-mile spread and the ZIP list above are worked out.

PNC Bank, National Association is the largest presence in Pittsburgh with 32 of the 203 branches; figures per institution are on its own profile page.

Sources: FDIC institution and office files; NCUA call report. American Community Survey 5-year estimates, 2022.